Running and Sole Searching.

Goals. This has been a pretty big topic in my life right now. Between New Year’s goal making and thinking about things while I was sick, there’s been a lot of tossing around of the word.

Goals. Its a big little word. It means a lot and usually involves a lot more. We should all have at least one we’re striving for. Whether its our personal or professional life. Sport, nutrition, hobby, etc. We should all have something that we’re working towards.

I have long term goals that I’d like to reach in my running. I have several of them, actually. I don’t know where to start though. I have a 5k PR I’d like to make. I have a distance I’d like to cover, regardless of time. I have a half marathon PR I’d like to accomplish. Right now I’m having trouble trying to figure out which is the most important to me.

The other part that is troubling to me stems from not knowing where my priorities are; because I don’t know, I don’t know where my training needs to go. I know in order to PR in any distance, I need to run hard in order to race hard. Common sense and practical. Maybe I’m just inundated with research and exposure of such great runners and I’m not sure which way to turn. Intervals. Tempos. Long runs. Warm up. Cool downs. Rest intervals. So many things to juggle.

Sometimes I think I’m scared to start really striving for something because I’m scared of failure. I know, that’s a deep thought. I also know that’s not a good enough reason to not begin. I will never reach potential if I don’t begin trying. It’s putting the rubber (sole) to the road that I need to do. I have the motivation and the fire within, I just have to make it show.

The bottom line is that I’m really trying to do some sole (soul?) searching with my running. Trying to find out where I want to go from here. I know I will never be elite status, but that doesn’t mean that I can’t push myself just as hard as one to be my best running self.

What are your running goals?
How did you figure out what they were?
Where did you start in trying to accomplish them?

Leave a Reply

