Expanding Horizons: Hot Yoga.

Happy Tuesday to you!

Running is my first true love. I love, love, love running. What I don’t love is how tired and sore I get after a week of high mileage (I use that term very loosely) or some good quality runs sprinkled in with some light and easy recovery runs. Like most runners, I’m not as good with stretching as I should be to get my body and muscles to recover.

Mimosa? Recovering drinking like a pro. Does nothing for the legs, though.

Mimosa? Recovering drinking like a pro. Does nothing for the legs, though.

So when a friend of mine told me that the hot yoga studio she attends had a Groupon special going on, I was all over it. Hello, 10 classes for $35! Where do I sign up?!

Bikram Yoga of Charleston did not disappoint! The class started on time and lasted the entire 90 minutes, as promised, although at times un-enjoyed. I have only been to 2 classes so I am not entirely sure that I’ve been able to tell much of a difference in flexibility. The only difference is that I am downing 120 oz of water on the days I’m going. Word to the wise: be sure to drink a lot of water. You will sweat. A lot.

I have to admit, I’m not much of a yogi. At all. So I was a bit intimidated by the 90 minute stretch session in 105* heat, but figured I needed to expand my horizons. Plus if I completely hated it, I could chalk up the $15 loss (a one-time drop in fee is $20). Good news: I don’t hate it. I don’t love it, but I don’t hate it. I did feel better in the second class I attended, so I imagine that I will get better with every one I go to.

  • Have you done hot/bikram yoga?
  • How much water do you normally drink in a day?
  • Is it still near 80* in the morning where you live, or are we the only ones still suffering?!
Leave a Reply

