What Makes You a Runner?

Woo, half way through the workweek!

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about races. Probably because its marathon season so I see it all over the place.

Blogs. Instagram. Twitter. Facebook.

Marathons are everywhere.

But I still haven’t done one. I’ve been running for close to a decade (holy crap!) and have never done a marathon. In fact, I never did my first race until 3 years ago.

Then I began thinking, “am I a fraud? Am I even a real runner?”

The answer is simple. Yes, I am a real runner.

You don’t have to register for a single race, ever.
You don’t have to run more than 2 miles at a time.
You don’t have to break course records.
You don’t have to ever run a half marathon or marathon.
You don’t have to run more than a 5K.
You don’t have to have a 5+ year history.
You don’t have to anally track every tenth of a mile.
You don’t have to do track workouts, intervals or tempo runs.
You don’t have to attempt an ultra at any point.

These are all things you don’t have to do to be considered a runner. Some of things will help a runner, but they are not necessary to be a runner.

What does make one a runner?

Heart, effort, and dedication.

You need the heart to be a runner. If you’re heart is not in it, then you might be doing it for the wrong reason.

You need to put in the effort to run. Even on those days when you don’t want to lace up and tie those shoes or those days when you only want to quit, pushing through and doing it does make you a runner.

Dedicating your time and your body to getting out there for a run a couple times a week, even when you “don’t have the time.” Those who have the heart of a runner will find the time. 20 minutes is better than nothing.

It doesn’t matter if you’re running 13+ minute miles or breaking course records with a 5 minute pace, its what’s inside of you that makes you a runner.

Some people are more gifted and talented runners (not me!) and some people bust their asses to reach PRs or to just fit a run in their schedule.

I will eventually run a marathon. One day. But for the time being, just because I haven’t does not make me “not a runner.”

Have you ever run a marathon?
Multiple? How many?
Do you prefer long or short distances?

2 thoughts on “What Makes You a Runner?

  1. That’s how I feel… eventually, I hope to run a marathon. Now would probably be a good time, lol, but I’m never quite ready to prioritize the time for training and take more breaks from CrossFit to do long runs.

Leave a Reply

