Damn DOMS.

Hello, hello!

Lately I’ve been living on a runners high, for sure. I’ve gotten in some really great long runs (and some that were less than great). I’ve also been hitting up CrossFit 2-3 times per week.

During that runners high I’ve thought of some really awesome posts I was going to write. Well, awesome in theory because I’m actually kind of a terrible writer. That’s why I don’t get paid to do this stuff. 🙂

I even made sure to remember the post ideas and I wrote them down after the run on which these brilliant ideas were thought.

But I have yet to write on any of these ideas, obvi.

And I’m still not here to write on any of them. Instead, I am here to whine a little more about a new injury.

Maybe its not really an injury. Maybe it truly is DOMS (delayed onset muscle soreness). In any case, it has kept me from running for 3 days now. Waahhhh!

What had happened was… I decided to show my face at CrossFit this past Wednesday where the workout looked grueling as usual amazing! I mean, there was running involved, what’s not to love?!

6 Rounds:
100m sprint
10 wallballs 20/14
20 wallball twists
*rest is the walk out to the 100m mark, catch your breath then break out into a sprint to begin the next round

Heck yes! Keeping in mind I ran over 9 miles that morning, my game plan was to take it a little easy on the first two sprints even though we were thoroughly warmed up. First sprint went pretty well, as planned. Second one, well, I took off just before the other two girls who were also doing it (who are two amazing athletes that I admire!) and then they took off right behind me. I wanted to stay in front of them so I pushed it. Hard. And then they surpassed me on the wallballs that followed because I was trying not to die catch my breath.

That information isn’t pertinent, I’m just pretty proud that I did not let those two girls take me. On the run. Once. Ha. I’m such a loser.

I digress. I felt good after the WOD. I rolled out. Stretched adequately. Had a good dinner. All was good.

Woke up the next morning and my quads were sore, probably from the wallballs, as were my shoulders from the push presses we did before the WOD. Hammies weren’t bad, at all.

Friday morning I woke up and stood-fell out of bed and my right hamstring was so tight. So sore. And the pain trailed up into my glutes. It hurt to even touch, like a bruise. Woof. I knew this was not going to be a good day to run. Decided to take it easy. Do a little bit of self-massage. Even asked the hubs to rub it out a little. So. Painful.

This morning rolled around and I was scared to step out of bed because I was worried about feeling the pain. One, because I don’t want to be in pain. Two, because I had a short and sweet run planned (since I didn’t get to yesterday). Three, because I scheduled a 14 mile run for tomorrow.

Guess what. None of those runs are going to happen, as planned. The pain is still there, although not nearly as bad as yesterday. My glutes no longer hurts but my right hammie still does. So even if I am feeling up to running tomorrow, I can guarantee that it will not be 14 miles.

Maybe next week.

Who knew sprints could hurt so bad?!

Do sprints make your hamstring(s) sore?
If you’re a blogger, do you think of awesome posts while running?
Are you able to remember them when you get home?

3 thoughts on “Damn DOMS.

  1. Pingback: Weekly Workouts {10/14 – 10/20} | Miles and Mascara

Leave a Reply

