Gear Talk.

Let’s just start off by addressing the elephant in the room: I’m not a pro nor am I close nor am I any kind of expert. That said, let’s talk technical gear.

I know they say don’t wear cotton. Use body glide to prevent chafing. Roll, stretch, and roll some more. Don’t forget to wear a clean pair of underwear in case you’re in an accident.

The extent of my running gear is a good pair of shoes, comfy shorts, and a matchingly comfy tee.

Bra: I have a Champion C9 (Target) bra that I like, but I love my Nike Pro DriFit bras. They’re cheaper than most and last what seem like forever. One bra in particular I’ve had for 3 years now and it hasn’t stretched out or faded. Its just as comfy as it was the day I got it. I also chalk this up to taking good care of it. I wash them in the washer with all my other workout gear but I hang them up to dry. By the way, I’m far from being “well-endowed” so I can get away with a less-supportive bra…

Shirt: I have such a huge assortment of shits. I have some C9, Nike, Adidas, race tech tees and Reebok shirts. As long as they’re light and they are fun colors I’m not too picky.

Shorts: I have had a pair of active shorts from Old Navy which have lasted several years, but my butt got too big. #crossfitproblems #dropitlikeasquat Yes, I just used hashtags in my post. I also have Under Armor shorts, which I love, and LuLu speed shorts, which I also love.

Socks: I just wear the Champion C9 socks. I get them at target in 3-4 pairs and I’ve never had a problem with them and I’ve run anywhere between 1 mile and 13.1 miles with them. Unless you’re talking compression socks, I can’t dole out $15+ for a pair of socks. Which brings me to my next point.

Compression socks: All of my compression socks are ProCompression, I’ve got 3 pairs of socks and 1 pair of sleeves. I usually wear these after a leg/calf heavy WOD (think box jumps and sprints) at CrossFit or after a grueling and/or long run.

IMG_0890Its a rainbow. If rainbows had black.

Shoes: Mizuno. Mizuno. Mizuno.

What’s your favorite “go to brand” for a piece of your gear?
Thoughts on compression gear?
Do you wear fancy running socks (other than compression)?

*I was not compensated to endorse any of these brands nor did I get any of this stuff for free. All of these opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

