Adultness.

Happy Tuesday, peeps! Hope Monday was good start to your week.

The past few days I’ve been thinking: I’m an adult. And its weird. I mean, technically I’ve been an adult for almost a decade. But its still weird.

I have a full time job. I base my choice of food on health first and taste second. I run/workout more for my health and to look good in a bikini second. I wash dishes. Wash clothes. Dust. Vacuum. Let out the dog. All when I’m tired because otherwise it won’t get done.

I pay all my bills and with the leftover money I say to myself, “self, don’t spend this. You might have a car problem you’ll need to pay for. Or gas. Or extra groceries.” And even if none of those problems come up, I still save it because I know I’ll need money for birthday/wedding/baby shower/Christmas gifts.

When did this happen? When did I become this adult-person, with responsibilities?!

Apparently its something that happens over time. One minute we’re 7 years old, on the edge of peeing our pants because we’re so excited about our 8th birthday party. The next minute we’re 16 years old and pee-pants excited about getting our license. Then we’re over-the-moon happy because we’re 21 and we can drink (and buy!) alcohol in the open, legally. Then we’re in our late 20’s and we’re excited because bills are paid, nothing is broken (body, car or home), and we have a few extra spending dollars.

Its weird how it happens. Because when I turned 18, I didn’t feel any different from when I was 16. And when I turned 25, I didn’t feel any different from when I was 22. So when did I become an adult?! When did I begin doing things for my health over doing things that are ‘fun’?

When did going to bed at 10 on Friday night to wake up for a 6:30 AM Saturday run become more fun than going to bed at 6:30 AM Saturday from a party that began at 10 on Friday night?!

I remember being a youngster looking up at adults and thinking, “wow, I can’t wait ’til I have the freedom to do what I want, when I want.” Ha! If only I realized how much money and time I wouldn’t have to actually do these things…

I guess its that old saying, “you’re only as old as you feel.” Well, my heart says I’m still 17. My mind says I’m 33. My body sometimes tells me I’m 65.

How old do you feel?
What was your favorite year (so far)?
When did you feel like a real adult?

4 thoughts on “Adultness.

  1. Emotionally I feel in my mid-twenties; , physically anywhere between 25 to 65 depending on how many burpees or wallballs I just completed. My favorite year is 1957……I don’t think you have anything to worry about as it seems to me you have a good man that loves you regardless of anyting else.

  2. Pingback: Consumed by Numbers. | Miles and Mascara

  3. Pingback: Birthday Celebrations! | Miles and Mascara

Leave a Reply

