Road Turtle.

Happy Tuesday! As in track Tuesday. I didn’t do the planned “track” workout which was 8 x 400m with 400m recovery walk/easy jog between but I did more of a tempo run. *I know, 1 week into a new semi-plan of running and I’m already switching things up. I’m a woman. I can change my mind if I want to. Duh.* I was trying extra hard to get some negative splits, which is not something I’m used to. Like really hard. I did it. Kind of.

I ran 3.5 miles this morning. And I got negative splits between miles 2 – 3 and again between miles 3 – 3.5. Yay! I pushed out of my comfort zone. And I’m not going to lie. It was not a good feeling. Literally, I hurt and I couldn’t breathe and all my legs wanted me to do was to stop. But I felt so SO good when I reached mile 3.5 and I did not give up. That’s huge for me.

Bigger than the snapping turtle I saw on the road this morning.

And I couldn’t snap a pic of the snapping turtle because I don’t carry my phone with me. Sorry. But here’s a distant relative of it. I’m sure of it. Because they’re like twins. And this one’s in the road, too.

Common Snapping Turtle{source}

Precious right? As precious as a new-age dinosaur can be, I suppose. Just don’t try to pet them. Or you could pull back a hand with one less finger. These little guys are mean! I tried to shoo the one off the road this morning. But I just pissed him off and he was going to try to eat my foot. But I was too fast, you know, with my negative splits and all. Although, I guess he understand my message of my waving hands and telling him to “get off the road before you become a car’s turtle soup” because when I came back by him he was on the grass next to the road. Success! I should have good karma for the rest of the day…

Are you a negative or positive split person?
Have you seen a snapping turtle before?
When was the last time you saved an animal’s life? (This can include braking for whales squirrles.)

2 thoughts on “Road Turtle.

Leave a Reply

