Overwhelmed.

Happy Monday! Let me start this off by saying that I went to the eye doctor last week and decided to get an upgrade to my glasses. I’m loving my new spectacles. I am feel so smart! And they’re much more gooder than my 8 year old pair. That’s like 40 years old in glasses years… And now that I like my glasses I’ll actually wear them often. That means I can make my contacts last 5 times longer than they’re supposed to, now. Shh. Don’t tell my doctor.

IMG_0495{Bad bathroom lighting + iPhone flash = glamour shot.}

Let’s get down to business. When I begin thinking about all the things I want to accomplish, I tend to have a minor panic attack. There are so many things!

1. Meal Planning:

There’s weekly meal planning. And this has to happen every. week. It never stops! If it were just me, I would totally just have a list of my top 10 favorite meals and cycle through them. But I have this husband of mine who’s not so fond on that idea. And its not just the main course of dinner to plan. There are sides. There are lunches. There are snacks. The madness doesn’t end. Ever. Because its every week.

2. Crossfit:

Oy. Bruce and I have been attending CrossFit for a mere 5 months. During that time we’ve really made a lot of progress. I can see some changes in my body and his. We’re both very happy with our progress. But there is always something to work on. Even for the members who’ve been going regularly for 3-4 years, they’re always working on something. Which is good because its never a “dead end,” but its bad because for noobs like us, its overwhelming to think about all the things on which we can improve. And now we know that we’ll always be working on stuff.

3. Running:

Obviously this is on the back burner for now, but I want to make so many progressions with my running. I want to be back to running longer distances, regularly, and I want to be faster. I’ve never really given much more than a passing thought about becoming speedier, but its something I’ve really been reading about the past couple months and its something I really want to put effort into.

4. Swimming:

Bruce and I have been swimming at least once per week now for the past month or so. And this is something that I really suck at. I mean, really suck. I know, just like anything else, it just takes time to get the hang of it. Fortunately, I’m lucky that the friend who coerced me into swimming is a former triathlete coach. She knows her swimming.

5. Future:

I said in my last post that I want to (eventually) move to Colorado. I also said that I don’t know what I want to do in life, but I know its not what I’m currently doing. This, like all of the above, is a work in progress.

So many things to balance. I can only take one day at a time and take life as it comes (injuries and all) and adjust as needed. One thing I don’t need to balance is my love for coffee. I will always have time for it. Especially this little gem that we’ve been using as an afternoon pick-me-up…

IMG_0503{Delicious coffee.}

Do you wear glasses/contacts?
What overwhelms you?
What’s your favorite type of coffee?

4 thoughts on “Overwhelmed.

  1. 8 years old is crazy!! I can’t believe they weren’t falling apart. I wear glasses most of the time, but I got contacts before our recent trip to Costa Rica. I love every kind of coffee — the stronger the better!

Leave a Reply

