Positive Changes.

A couple days of weeks ago I mentioned that I was going to talk about some positive changes in my life.

Then I was struck with this useless knee syndrome. This knee issue has me pretty bummed, I’m not going to lie, and because of this, there is no more of a perfect time to reflect on some positive changes.

1. I’ve gained a couple pounds. By a couple, I mean 4. Which really is not that big of a deal. Especially since I’m getting better by leaps and bounds in CrossFit. And my clothes still fit.

2. I am so excited that my bank account has six more dollars in it than what it could. Our coffee of choice is on a (long-term) sale! And just in case it was a misprint, I picked up three bags before that (possible) misprint is fixed. ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_0491

3. The temperatures are heating up. I do love this time of year, although not as much as fall and early spring, because its warm enough to hit to beach without feeling as if my skin is melting off. Non-melty skin is always a good thing.

4. I’ve been doing some major minor soul searching, and I’ve come to the realization that I cannot see myself doing what I’m doing until retirement. Don’t get me wrong, I like the people with whom I work, but its not something that excites me. Its not something I have passion for. I’m just not sure what I want to do. Something in the health field. I know, that really narrowed it down.

5. I have also come to realize that I, eventually, would love to live in Colorado. I do not know if this will ever happen. If it does, I don’t know when it will happen. My husband also wants to move there. Maybe after the boys graduate… (Only 8 years to go…)

colorado trails{source}

For now I will just have to try to embrace the non-running and concentrate on putting more efforts into improving in CrossFit.

Although its becoming increasingly difficult to not be so bummed about not running. Especially when I received this in my mailbox yesterday…

IMG_0501
Without fail, every month when I get the new issue of Runners World, it makes me want to go out and run. And on any other day, I would. Except today. Stupid knee. Instead, I sat and read this issue for about 20 minutes. This issue is a pretty heart wrenching one, reflecting on the Boston Marathon. I’m not going to lie, I had to hold back a couple of tears when reading some of these things.

Then I thought about my knee again. And wishing that I could just go back to just over three weeks ago when I’d injured it. I know exactly what I’d do differently: I wouldn’t have run 9 miles on super tight hammies and I would’ve stretched a little lot more that day. I’m so frustrated because I did this to myself. And now it doesn’t seem to be getting any better.

Pity, party of one, please.

I was talking to a friend of mine the other day about this lingering issue and I realized that I’ve been running for 7.5 years, and this is the worst injury I’ve had (so far, knock on wood!). When this gets better, I vow to myself that I will take better care of my body and listen to what I’m telling myself I should and should not do…because like a 6 year old kid stealing candy at the checkout line, I know better.

In better tastier news, I started my Sunday off with a little bit of this…

IMG_0499{French toast and coffee.}

Just for kicks, take a look at these Runners Sympathy cards.

Do you get Runners World?
What kind of coffee do you drink?
Which card has ever applied to you?

3 thoughts on “Positive Changes.

  1. Pingback: Overwhelmed. |

Leave a Reply

