My First Hero WOD.

Happy, happy Friday! Let’s catch up on workouts this past week, shall we?

Sunday & Monday: Rest (apparently I needed it am lazy)
Tuesday: Run 5 miles AM // CrossFit PM
Wednesday: Run 8 miles AM
Thursday: CrossFit PM
Friday: Lunchtime Yoga // (Run PM??)

Let’s talk about this Hero WOD I did yesterday. It was the first Hero WOD I’ve ever done. And it was brutal. Rightfully so.

What’s a Hero WOD? It’s a Workout of the Day (WOD) that is done in memory of a fallen soldier. A KIA (killed in action), if you will. And these are tough workouts. And they’re supposed to be. These are men (and women) who have laid down their life for this Country. They made the ultimate sacrifice for millions of people they didn’t know.

We did McGhee yesterday. From the CrossFit mainsite:

CplRyanMcGhee_thCorporal Ryan C. McGhee, 21, was killed in action on May 13, 2009 by small arms fire during combat in central Iraq. He served with 3rd Battalion, 75th Ranger Regiment of Fort Benning, Ga. This was his fourth deployment, his first to Iraq. Ryan was engaged to Ashleigh Mitchell of Fredericksburg, VA. He is survived by his father Steven McGhee of Myrtle Beach S.C., his mother Sherrie Battle McGhee, and his brother Zachary.

The workout is: 30 minutes AMRAP (as many rounds as possible)
5 Deadlifts 225/185 (I used 115 lbs)
13 Pushups
9 Box jumps 24/20
My score: 15 + 18 (I did 15 full rounds + 18 reps of the next round)

30 minutes is a long time for a WOD. But here’s a chilling quote someone wrote on our board…

This is only 30 minutes. He only had 21 years.

And let me tell you. I could’ve cried like a baby. If it has to do with the military, there’s a likely chance that I will cry. Happy or sad, tears will flow. I had to hold them back yesterday. I got pretty choked up.

I come from a military family with my dad being in the Marine Corps for 20 years. My uncle and cousin in the Air Force. My husband is retired Navy. There’s just something about people who are willing to put their lives on the line for an entire nation that puts a soft spot in my heart for them. And I could get up on my soap box (its a very large one) and talk about this until I’m blue in the face, but I won’t.

Have you ever done a Hero WOD?
Do you or your family have a military background?
Have you thanked a veteran today? You should!

3 thoughts on “My First Hero WOD.

  1. Pingback: Lazy Weekend. |

  2. Thank you for doing Ryan’s WOD. Ryan was a wonderful young man. Very sweet, very kind and very devoted to his fiance and his military career. Everyone who knew him loved him. He would be so honored by your hard work in completing the WOD and for remembering veterans and the fallen in such a personal way.

    • It is more than an honor to do something in memory of someone who was willing to sacrifice himself (and did) for this Country. Words cannot express how much gratitude I have in my heart for people like Ryan.

Leave a Reply

