April Goals & Trying Paleo.

January. February. March. All three months have come and gone. A quarter of the 2013 has passed us by. Where are you on your resolutions and goals for this year?

I never made any “official” goals for this year. From my personal experience, I don’t do well with that because they’re too broad, too general, no specifics and I get overwhelmed with thinking about how to get there. So I like to make goals for the month, plus I constantly change my mind on what I want to achieve.

Here are some personal goals I set for April:

  1. Attend CrossFit at least three times per week.
  2. Run at least three times per week.
  3. Do a good, deep yoga stretch (at least 20 minutes) session at least once per week.
  4. Eat Paleo at least 80% of the time.
  5. Blog at least twice per week.

Let’s talk a bit about #4. My CrossFit box is holding a SummerFit challenge beginning today. A 45 day challenge that incorporates the Paleo diet, but it goes much further than that. Its a challenge designed to reward for good behavior which includes eating Paleo (obviously), drinking (lots of) water, sleeping 8 hours a night, and working out. Okay, so maybe it doesn’t sound like much, but really, what have I got to lose?

The Paleo is a widely controversial topic. If you consult with my friend Google, returned will be a slew of articles on the diet. Some people swear by it and are hardcore PLF (Paleo for Life, pretty sure I just made that up), and some people think its a crock. And that’s okay. Everyone is entitled to their opinion. We are a democracy after all!

This afternoon I’m attending my box’s nutritional/informational seminar on the challenge, so I’ll know fully what I’m getting myself into. I do know I love bacon!

FYI: Chocolate and M&M covered bacon = NOT Paleo
Just sayin’.

bacon

[source]

– Are you currently or have you tried Paleo?
– What are some things you’d like to achieve this month?
– Thoughts on chocolate covered bacon?

Leave a Reply

