I’m a Stranger in my Own Home.

It has been quite some time since I last dropped in to say hello and because of that, I now feel like a stranger here. But I’m sure we can quickly become reacquainted.

There have been all sorts of fun things going on lately! I’m not sure where to begin…but I won’t go back a month because, well, that would just be tortuous (for you, obviously).

Last week a guy at work told me that a member for their Palmetto 200 Relay team dropped out and he asked relentlessly badgered me to join. So I did. Now I’m nervous. This isn’t just the “regular” relay with 9-12 people (those are tough enough, I imagine!), but this a 6-man-team. So the pressure is on. Mainly because I’ve never done a relay, other than the 100 meter relays that happened in fifth grade. A lot of research has been happening… How to train (in less than three weeks!)? How much should I run? How often should I run? Fortunately, there is a plethora of advice on the interwebs on this sort of thing. Here are the main tips I’ve picked up on:

  1. Drink lots of water. Like, a lot.
  2. Run double at least one time per week.
  3. Like any other training program, taper for the last week. <–This will be difficult since I only have three weeks!
  4. Be sure to properly fuel after runs, eat or drink something of some nutritional value within 15 minutes of a run.
  5. Drink more water.
  6. Slow and steady wins the race to keep a pace. Since I’ll be running 6 legs, I don’t want to start off too fast on my first couple of legs only to have the last ones suffer.
  7. Drink more water.

CrossFit has been going very well, except for the fact that I’m having some difficulty with my right shoulder. A few weeks ago, we were working on some power cleans. The heavier I was going, the more my form was suffering. Although, I did not realize this unfortunate mistake until it was taking its toll on me. Essentially what was happening was instead of using the power from my hips to bring the weight up (as is habitually preached at our box), I was ‘muscling’ the weight up…which involved me pulling with my shoulders and not rotating my hands around the bar the proper way. Needless to say, it put quite the strain on my shoulder and I’m now nursing it back to health with regular stretching and a little strength work in it everyday. Fortunately, I am not so injured that I have not been able to do CF at all, there are just movements (i.e. the power clean and snatch) that I shouldn’t do or should do with light weight.

Speaking of CrossFit, beginning on April 1 the owners are putting on a “SummerFit Challenge” which will last 45 days. I am entertaining the thought of signing up. It involves the Paleo diet, making it a goal to get more sleep, and drinking more water. I’ve never done any sort of diet, so to speak, so it’ll be interesting to see how it goes. I’ll also be keeping you updated, whether you like it or not. The good thing is that if I decide its not for me, at all or at this time, and I indulge in a gallon of chocolate milk, peanut butter on toast with a side of gummy works (breakfast, anyone?), they will not come after me with daggers. I think. This little 45 day challenge will also be ongoing during the time of the relay…so I’ve got an additional hurdle…

And certainly, last, but not least, my hubby and I have been in DC all week for work related stuff. You know who lives in DC? Mary at Minutes per Mile! We met her at local bar and enjoyed some drinks and talked about running, CrossFit, blogging (or for me, lack thereof…), and all kinds of other good stuff! And let me tell you, she is just as beautiful and sweet in person as she seems in her blog.

maplebar
[source: minutes per mile]

Also in DC, we got to see a few other interesting things…

Snow

IMG_1838

More snow IMG_1841

And apparently Ted doesn’t care much for loitering or smokin’…

IMG_1855

– Have you ever done a relay, what was your experience?
– Do you participate in challenges that your box begins?
– Who’s Ted?

2 thoughts on “I’m a Stranger in my Own Home.

  1. Pingback: The Time I Ran 10.5 Miles in DC. |

  2. Pingback: April Goals & Trying Paleo. |

Leave a Reply

