Getting Out the Door is the Easiest Part.

Saturday you’d think that we were in a monsoon we had so much rain! But I made it out to CrossFit for open gym and made up my own WOD.

4 Rounds For Time (RFT):
10 Kettlebell Swings (25#)
10 Wallballs (10#)
10 Ring Dips (band assisted)

10 Box Jumps (24″)
13:25

I felt like I could’ve pushed harder but I made a b.i.g. mistake by not eating beforehand so I felt very weak and dizzy at times. My legs and hands were very shaky. So I did what any person who felt like I did would do…

3 Rounds (untimed) all at 65#:
12 Romanian Deadlifts (+ extra 12 at the end of 3 rounds)
10 Good Mornings
8 Back Squats

Then I did some core work with some of the more seasoned female CF’rs. Definitely felt that on Sunday.

We’ve all heard that old adage, “getting out the door is the hardest part.” But sometimes is a big. fat. lie. Only sometimes.

Like Sunday, for example, the hardest part was staying out. I was motivated and ready to go. I got dressed and shoes on without even having an argument with myself. I was feeling good. Got out the door. Got my watch all set up. Warmed up. Had a good hearty breakfast about an hour beforehand. Was ready to rock.

Around mile 0.4 I felt as if my heart was going to beat out of my chest and I couldn’t get my shit together. I’m used to that feeling for about the first quarter mile, but after that I was usually pretty well warmed up and finding my pace. Not true of this run. During this run my entire body (inside and out) decided to rebel against me. Jerk.

I planned to do 5 miles but knew if I felt like this the whole time that I was not going to hit that 5 mile mark. I did 3.3 miles. It wasn’t a pretty 3.3 miles and it certainly wasn’t the 5 I was going for, but at least I got out and did something!Β 

Yesterday we went to CF and got our asses handed to us rocked the WOD!

Strength:
Deadlift 5-5-5-5
105-115-125-135

METCON:
WOD 12.3
(it was the WOD that was listed during the third week of the 2012 CrossFit open)AMRAP – 18 minutes
15 Box Jumps 24/20
12 Push Press 95/75 (45#)
9 Toes To Bar (knee raise, KTE progression)

I’m really learning some things about myself via CF, but because I’m not sure I can pack any more boring stuff in one post, I will save that for another time.

Go take a nap now. And then get out and do something.

Happy Tuesday!

2 thoughts on “Getting Out the Door is the Easiest Part.

  1. Hey, miles are miles, and 3.3 is certainly better than nothing! (And significantly more than the 0 I’m capable of right now.) Great job. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

