Variety is the Spice of Life!

Although, considering the way things have been lately, I wouldn’t know from experience.

Hello, friends!

I know I’ve been pretty scarce non-existent lately. Though I have a good excuse: I’ve had nothing exciting to tell.

People frequently ask me, “how’s married life?” And I give the same answer. Every. Time. “Oh, you know, I tell him what to do and he just rolls his eyes at me and does what he wants anyway. But life is good.” Every. Time.

We went to lunch on Sunday with a good friend of mine and we started talking about our daily life. She talked about going to see her (99 year old!) mother at least every other day. And she’s (my friend) is not going to know what to do with herself when her mother passes because she’s had the same routine for a couple of years now: wake up, shower, breakfast, see mother, home, nap, house chores, dinner, sleep, and do it all over again the next day. All of this peppered in with some shopping trips or events throughout the month.

This got B and I thinking about our routines. We do the same thing almost every day: wake up, work, CrossFit, home, dinner, shower, sleep. There is no variety. When we say we go out weekends, it usually means we went one of two places: CrossFit on Saturday or the grocery store on Sunday morning (after planning our menu for the week, of course). We hardly go out anymore (like before we got married). We don’t go to restaurants often. We don’t go to the movies like we used to (i.e. 2-3 times a month). We don’t go shopping “just to go.”

And honestly, I’m okay with all of that. By not going out, we’re saving money. I do enjoy going out and eating a good plate of food before enjoying a new flick on a big screen, but it just doesn’t happen like it used to.

When I was in high school I used to think that I was going to do something awesome for my career. I was not going to have a 9-5 desk job in some stuffy office. And, well technically, I don’t. I work from 7-4 in a regular (read: not stuffy) office, but I do work at a desk. I used to think that I didn’t like routines. I didn’t like the thought of doing the same thing day-in and day-out. It’s really not so bad.

So, if you ask me what I’ll be doing in three days, I can tell you. If you ask me if I have plans for next Tuesday, I can tell you, “not really.” And I’ll soak it in because I am all too familiar with the other side of the spectrum: having TOO much stuff on the plate and not being able to finish any of it.

This post is fairly pointless, I get that. And the fact that I don’t really have any pictures to share makes it even more pointless.

I hope your lives have been a little more exciting than mine. And if they haven’t been, then I hope you’re okay with that, too.

2 thoughts on “Variety is the Spice of Life!

  1. haha! i just posted yesterday about living in my own version of “groundhog day” because i am living in such a routine of things lately. funny how that goes. me & the fiance don’t go out much anymore either–but also something i’m fine with. mo’ money in our pockets! plus, i’m pretty lazy….;)

Leave a Reply

