Strong Beginning.

Thursday was a rest day. Much needed rest day.

Friday’s WOD was 3 RFT:
10 box piked pushups (subbed for HSPU)
200m plate carry, out front with arms bent (no hugging the plate) (10#)
200m plate carry, over head with locked arms (10#)
Cash out:
50 Pushups (knees!)
50 Pullups (strict with green band)
21:37

This workout was a total killer! But definitely felt good. Its amazing how badly something can hurt during the process but how good it makes me feel afterwards knowing I completed it.

Saturday is always open gym. I love open gym time. I can either do a workout I missed. Do one that is suggested on Saturday. Or make up my own. I went with option 3.
Found that my 1 RM (rep max) for a back squat is 145!
5 RFT:
10 KB squats (KB in front position) (25#)
10 24″ box jumps
200m run
14:11

Then I came home and went for a 2.35 mile run with The Little Beast.

photo(5)

She hasn’t been running in quite some time so she had a hard time once we started mile 2. She doesn’t get the “pace yourself from the beginning concept.” But she totally knows how to drag me off course to try to chase squirrels. Or poop.

I received one of the best compliments ever today! Well, ever in (my) CF history.

A girl asked me what I did before signing up to die for CF. I said run. She looked at me funny. At first I though I had something on my face (not totally unlikely) but she said, “you seem so strong.” I was taken aback! Like whoa. That was so awesome to hear. Because I certainly don’t feel strong compared to some of those girls. But I am a beginner. And I think that’s what she was saying. I’m strong for a beginner. Considering I’ve had an on-again, off-again relationship with the gym and I’ve had (what this girl dubbed as) “functional fitness” dealing with heavy car parts/motors/tires/etc for a few years, I guess I built up some muscle.

Not to toot my own horn here, but… Wait, who am I kidding?! Of course I’m tooting my own horn!

Seriously though, I may not be strong compared to some of those girls who go to the box I do, but they’ve earned to be where they are. And I will also be there one day. I can only do what I can do and keep pushing to be stronger. I’m not going to lie, I feel pretty damn awesome when I leave after a kick ass WOD.

And here’s a pretty picture. Because I’m lame. And want to show off my mad photo skills.

photo(4)

Does your box offer “open gym” time?
Do you take your 4 legged friends running?

3 thoughts on “Strong Beginning.

  1. Pingback: Frustratingly Humble. «

  2. Pingback: Positive. «

Leave a Reply

