Booyah. Done and Done.

Yesterday. Running. Crossfit. Done and done. Booyah.

Went for a lunchtime stroll yesterday with a coworker.

3.35 miles, 33:10

Crossfit after work.

IMG_1676 v2

24:53

Hopefully I won’t fall out today.

Yesterday’s workout was tough. As to be expected. But it wasn’t necessarily intense in the strength but it was really all about endurance and pacing. Something I’m all too somewhat familiar with from my three half-marathons. I didn’t get out of the gate too fast and I paced my first 400 so that I was still breathing (somewhat) normal when I got back for my pull-ups. Side note, I feel like the special kid in class with the “easy” bandΒ and having to use a box to reach it. The first 15 pullups went by with a fair amount of ease. But I have jelly arms and, even with the band-assist, I was having a difficult time. I guess we really all do need to start somewhere.

I finished up with the first 25 wall balls, looked at the clock. 5:5x. Shit. I still have 3 more rounds to go. Well, it ain’t gonna do itself.

So out for my second 400 meter run. Fast forward and I was really huffing and puffing by the end of my last run. It was tough punching out those pullups. Not only because I’m a weakling but because it was so hot out (70*!) so my hands were sweating. Chalk was my friend. Then finished out the last of the wall balls. It was definitely a mental WOD.

And apparently I have a death wish. Running 3.35 miles during lunch. Wrapping up a tough WOD in 24:53. Feeling like death. What would a normal person do? Not what I did. Because I’m not normal.

I wrapped it up with 3 rounds of a 250 meter row, 10 GHSUs and 10 back extensions.

So I needed to recoup with a good dinner!

Dinner last night was salmon, asparagus and onion orzo salad with lemon-dill vinaigrette. So good.

IMG_1677

Lemon-Dill Vinaigrette
1/3 C crumbled feta cheese
1 T chopped fresh dill
3 T fresh lemon juice
2 t EVOO
Salt & Pepper

Directions:
1. Mix it all together with a whisk. Or a fork. Whatever you want.

Salmon, Asparagus and Orzo salad
6 C water
1 lb asparagus (trimmed and cut to 2″)
1 C uncooked orzo
1 1/4 lb skinless salmon filet
Salt
Pepper
Cooking Spray
1/4 thinly sliced red onion

Directions:
1. Preheat broiler
2. Bring water to boil in large saucepan. Add asparagus; cook 3 minutes, remove with tongs or slotted spoon (reserve the water) and drunk into ice water.
3. Return reserved water to a boil. Add orzo and cook per package directions (omit salt and fat)
4. While orzo cooks, sprinkle salmon with salt and pepper. Put fish on foil-lined broiler pan coated with cooking spray. Broil 5 minutes (or until fish flakes easily). Break fish into large chunks.
5. Combine salmon, orzo, asparagus, onion and vinaigrette in large bowl and toss to coat.

This really was so good. The combo of taste and texture was delicious and everything came together.

2 thoughts on “Booyah. Done and Done.

Leave a Reply

