Back in the Saddle.

After taking quite the hiatus from running I went for a run yesterday. I also used this run to (finally) use my Christmas present!

IMG_1667 v2

After my run B asked me if I thought CF had helped my running. Honestly, I can’t tell. After not running for a couple months, I thought I’d lose a lot more than I did as far as stamina, endurance and speed. (Good thing speed is relative.) So, I’m not sure if I truly didn’t lose as much as I thought or if CF helped build what some of what I did lose.

It’s difficult to compare since I haven’t kept up with running.

It felt good to run again! It hurt and my (tight) hammies hated it, but it felt good to get out there. To be in nature. On a quiet country road with squirrels running around. I also made some new running partners.

roosters(source)

I didn’t take that picture, but that’s pretty much what I saw. They’re not very good running partners. Especially since they tend to run away. Not a good running partner quality. Yes, I live in the boonies.

IMG_1664

After dinner I made some sausage and shrimp jambalaya. (Took that recipe and changed a few things…used turkey sausage in place of andouille and omitted the red pepper sauce as it’d make it too spicy for the kiddlings.)

1 T olive oil
1 C chopped onion
1 C chopped red bell pepper
1 t minced garlic
6 oz turkey sausage, sliced
1 C uncooked long-grain white rice
1 t paprika
1 t fresh ground black pepper
1 t dried oregano
1/2 t onion powder
1/2 t dried thyme
1/4 t garlic salt
1 bay leaf
2 C less-sodium chicken broth
3/4 C water
1 T tomato paste
1/2 teaspoon hot pepper sauce (optional)
1 (14.5 oz) can no salt-added diced tomatoes, undrained
1/2 lb peeled and deveined medium shrimp

Directions
Heat olive oil in large Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add next 4 ingredients; saute 5 minutes or until vegetables are tender.

Add rice and next 7 ingredients, cook 2 minutes. Add broth, water, paste, pepper sauce and tomatoes; bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat and simmer 20 minutes. Add shrimp and cook 5 minutes. Let stand 5 minutes. Discard bay leaf. Serve!

Today is a CF day and it looks like a tough SOB WOD. (Wait, aren’t they all?!)

Do you use a GPS watch?
Do you strange running partners, such as squirrels or chickens?

5 thoughts on “Back in the Saddle.

  1. Jealous of your new Garmin! My beloved Garmin has been dying a slow death for a good year or so now but I refuse to replace it until I’m post-baby, injury-free and running regularly again.

  2. Just started reading your blog, thanks for putting out such interesting stuff. I have been thinking about getting a Garmin for running- does this one monitor your heart rate? I am not sure if I want to wear a heart monitor, so I was wanting your opinion on yours. Any details or thoughts you have about it would be great. Thanks!

  3. Pingback: Getting Out the Door is the Easiest Part. |

Leave a Reply

