Well, This Isn’t Going As Planned…

I really suck at achieving goals. Yes, even S.M.A.R.T. ones.

“Save $x by the end of November.”
“Plan at least 3 dinners this week and buy groceries on Sunday.”
“Work out at least 4 days this week.”

Which one of the above did I hit? None. Seriously. Because I suck and should just give up on life and go live out in the dessert in a cactus (for the record, I know I couldn’t actually live in a cactus.

That last one “work out at least 4 days this week” also goes on to be “work out more often than not for the month.” In other words, if there are 30 days in a month, I’d like to push myself to work out at least 16 of those days. That used to not be a problem for me. Ever. I would workout 20-25 out of 30 days, but I can’t seem to get my shit internal motivation together. I went for a run on Dec 1, the Reindeer Run, and I thought to myself, “self, you’re starting out good so far, day one of the month and you’re running. Good job!” Then I went for a (shitty) run 2 days later and I haven’t done anything since. Because I suck and should just give up on life and go live out in the dessert in a cactus.

This morning, B and I woke up bright dark and early to get to the gym. Well, drinking coffee first thing in the morning then working out doesn’t agree with my digestive system. Soooo…I didn’t work out this morning. And we decided that working out that early wasn’t kosher with us anyway because we were too rushed. Now that we live like a gagillion miles outside of town, it would make NO sense to go back home to get ready for work. Long story short, we’re not doing that again.

All that being said, I’m just being a weenie and making excuses. I know I need to do something and nothing’s going to change until I make it change. I know. I know. I know. I’m up and down. Up and down. Up and down. I’m never consistent (which is obvious). I don’t know if its burnout on my part or if I just stopped giving a shit.

Well, now that I got that out of my system, I will go on to say that I actually have been cooking more. Although B is the chef in our house, I have cooked a couple meals, and they have turned out surprisingly delicious! I expected them to be good since I am sous chef (HAHAHAHA yeah right), but they were delicious. Which is good x100. One of those dishes is chicken with black beans, lime creme and salsa. Served up with a side of yellow rice just rounded this dish out to possibly one of most delicious colorful dishes ever.

IMG_1376

Chicken with Black Beans, Lime Creme and Salsa (recipe makes 2)

1/2 C black beans soaked overnight (or 15oz canned black beans)
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
4 t olive oil, divided
1/2 C diced yellow onion
1/2 t cumin
1/4 C Greek yogurt
1/2 lime
1/2 C fresh salsa
1 T chopped cilantro
Salt & Pepper to taste

If using dried beans, cook covered with water for 1 hour and drain when tender. If using canned beans, rinse and drain.
Preheat broiler to high. Rub chicken with 2 t olive oil, salt and pepper. Broil 10 minutes per side (or until done).
Heat 2 t olive oil in a skillet; add diced onion and saute until tender. Add black beans, cumin, salt and pepper. Simmer for 10 minutes.
Combine Greek yogurt with lime juice (from lime).
Service chicken on a bed of black beans, top with salsa, yogurt mixture and cilantro.

Whoda thunk I coulda made something so tasty?! Every now and again I can pull something out! This is definitely going in a “normal rotation” recipe collection.

Have you surprised yourself with how good something came out?

Do you think I complain too much about my lack of self-motivation? (I already know the answer, so you don’t really have to answer this… Its more of a rhetorical question…)

One thought on “Well, This Isn’t Going As Planned…

  1. Pingback: Comparing Myself. | Miles and Mascara

Leave a Reply

