Second Guessing.

I’ve begun my tapering for my half marathon. Does not running at all count as tapering?

Yesterday morning I woke up feeling like 3 of the 7 dwarfs. Sleepy. Dopey. Sneezy. Check. Check. Check.

So I took an allergy med. Got to work on time (unusual). Around 10:30 I began seeing a large white ‘blind spot’ on the right side of my vision. It was very strange. Slowly a sinus headache was making its way into my head and face. I felt awful. I couldn’t concentrate.

So I went home. And I crashed. I slept from 12 through 3:40. Apparently I was exhausted!

When I woke up and saw what time it was, I kind of panicked because I didn’t have much time to get my 4 mile run in. Then I realized I probably shouldn’t run since I hadn’t eaten much nor had I much to drink. So I popped open my laptop and did some work.

I’ve really been thinking about this whole marathon thing and am now second-guessing my participation. And by second-guessing my participation, I mean participating at all: marathon OR half.

The past two weeks I’ve been evaluating where I want to be in my fitness. I want to get back into the gym and lift more. I want to start building muscle again. I haven’t (consistently) stepped foot into a gym in about 6 months, and honestly, I miss it. I feel so badass when I lift. So what if I can only do 15 lbs when I do overhead tricep lifts. At least I’m in the gym!

So now comes the real decision making time. I have a half marathon in a week and a half. I’m not going to the gym between now and then… Because I don’t want to be too sore or injure myself beforehand, but with the mileage I have to put in for my marathon, I won’t feel like going to the gym. Between today and Nov 4, I need to figure out what I want to do. Do I want to keep steady for another half in Jan? Do I want to go full steam-ahead with training and do a full? Or do I want to transfer my registration to someone else who will take advantage of it?

Honestly, I’m doubting my ability that I’m ready to train for a full. Because I’m not diligent in making sure I’m sticking to my schedule for the half and more often than not, my long runs haven’t been what they need to be. And the fact that I’m having some leg/ankle/knee issues.

If my heart is not going to be in my training, I’m not sure I should do it. Right now my priorities lie elsewhere.

The issues I’m having with my lower body are irritating enough to deal with. I can’t run for more than 8 miles without my left knee being sore. I’ve read several articles that talk about “runner’s knee” but I don’t have soreness after my run. I have soreness during my run. And it’s not a sharp pain. It feels more like my knee is swollen. After I get home and I shower, my knee feels fine, no pain!

If you were having the feelings I’m having, what would you do?
Have you ever heard of or had the knee issues I’m describing?

3 thoughts on “Second Guessing.

  1. Marathon training really just takes one thing: commitment. So long as you can commit to getting most (not even all, just most) of those runs in, you’ll make it. And it is SO SO SO worth it (at least in my opinion, which should count for very little beyond this comment. Haha!) You can still lift even if you’re training for a marathon, although that level of commitment is far beyond anything I’m capable of. I say stick with the goal of 26.2, at least for now. Keep going with it – don’t call it now! If in two months you really don’t think you can make it, then you can always back out then and change your routine, but see how long you can go for. You may surprise yourself and rock it all the way through! Good luck!

    • Thanks for the encouraging words, Kelly! Unfortunately that’s what I feel I’m lacking: commitment. I hate to say this phrase, but I can’t think of any other way to describe it… Lately I’ve been dreading my upcoming LRs. When I look at my schedule and see a 10 mile run, I immediately feel drained.. I won’t throw in the towel just yet. I’ll reevaluate how I feel about it after my half. Thanks again!!

  2. Pingback: Yup. Nope, Not Happening. « Miles and Mascara

Leave a Reply

