Nervous.

First things first, I’ll catch you up with the running I have not been doing. Don’t worry, this will be short. 🙂

Week of:

Sep 30 – Oct 6: 16.85 Miles
Oct 7 – Oct 13: 14.30 Miles

And let me also add this about those two weeks, I only ran a total of 5 days out of those 14. Five. Know what else starts with “F“? Okay, that was an open ended question… The word I’m particularly looking for is FAIL.

I’m nervous because my half marathon is coming up in less than three weeks. I haven’t done a long run in about three weeks. Last week, I did a 7.5 mile run, but that doesn’t really cut it when talking about doing a 10-12 mile run. I can tell you my excuses and my reasons, but that won’t make up for not running those long runs. So I’ll save your time and not go into it.

What I do plan to do is a long run after work today or tomorrow.

I’ve been running after work because its too difficult to get my lazy behind out of bed in the mornings. Some afternoons have been a bit warmer than others. We’re still hitting 80* some days. But I’m drinking lots of water. Today is going to be one of those days. The all-knowing weatherpeople are calling for a high of 82 today. Tomorrow “they” are saying it will be a high of 73. So I’m thinking I will do a little 4.25 miler today (I know you love how exact that is, but that’s the route mileage. Can’t help it.) Tomorrow I will dominate a 10 miler. Then this Saturday I will cover a good 10-12 miles.

Lately I’ve noticed that its hard for me to get out of bed early on a Saturday. Some people wake up, take their time, and get out for a long run around 11 or 12. Some people are great about getting up and out at 6 a.m. I need to get up early to drink some coffee and, um, get things moving. I don’t like waking up at an un-Godly hour on a Saturday (the same hour I have to wake up Monday through Friday for work). I will admit, IF I do wake up at that hour, I like it… Its the actual getting up part that’s difficult. Once 10:00 rolls around, I really don’t feel like heading out for a run. Its a mental thing. Its difficult to explain, but since LRs take so long (for me because I’m a tortoise) I just want to get out there early and get it done.

On that note, I’ve come to the conclusion that I should do my LRs on Friday after work. Then I will have Saturday to leisurely wake up, drink some coffee, and go for a shorter recovery run… That way if it’s 9:00 when I’m ready to head out the door, I will be done with my run and getting ready for the day by 10:00. Easy peasy. Lemon squeezy. And if I don’t feel like running Saturday morning, then I can do it Sunday. Either way, I won’t feel crap for not getting the LR done at all and I’ll get in a short recovery run without taking up half my weekend.

I guess I’m not Ironman triathlete material. Whew, talk about time consuming!!

Let me sum this up since I’ve been all over the place with this post (that’s what it looks like in my mind too… Just webs of stuff with no actual correlation. Just random thoughts).

1. I haven’t done a LR in three weeks (boo!)
2. If I’m not out the door by 10:00 on a Saturday, the LR ain’t happenin’
3. I’m slow
4. I’m going to do my LRs Friday after work
5. I’m nervous as shit about this half…
6. …I hope that doesn’t carry over into my marathon
7. I’m very scatter-brained

Does anyone else have these sort of time-of-day running issues? Or am I the only weird one?

By the way, cannot wait ’til the Mizuno musha 4’s and/or Mizuno Elixir 7’s go on sale. I’m stocking up. Like a Mizuno running-shoe hoarder. Then I can have a reality show. Or two.

Leave a Reply

