It’s My Party

And I won’t run if I don’t want to!

More like I won’t run because I’m too sore! Whoda thunk that not running consistently during the summer really would’ve taken this sort of toll on my body? (Obvi, I’m totally, like, joking.) More on that in a bit. Let’s enjoy a cuppa coffee, each others company, and catch up, shall we?

I did run Wednesday after work because after running 2 days in a row (in the heat), my body was just sore and it was violently screaming at me that I needed a rest. I said okay because I don’t like confrontation.

But I made a kickass dinner. And it was so simple! Easy peasy lemon squeezy, simple!

Homemade mashed sweet ‘taters and baked chicken with tapenade

Sweet Mashed Taters
Skin and cube sweet potatoes. Put in pot filled with water on place on high heat and bring to a boil. Let boil for … honestly, I don’t know … minutes, until soft. I just kept checking the softness of them with a fork. When done, drain the potatoes of water AMAP (as much as possible, pretty sure no one actually uses that acronym). Mush and mash the potatoes until all big chunks are no longer. What are ‘homemade’ without a few little chunks? I mixed in regular coffee creamer (in lieu of milk), a teeny bit of vanilla, brown sugar, and topped with cinnamon.

Baked Chicken with Tapenade
Pre-heat oven to 350*. For easy clean up: lay tin foil down on baking pan. Put chicken on pan (I used boneless, skinless, thin chicken breasts) and put a dollop of olive oil on each breast and brush it over the whole piece. Using your choice of tapenade, cover the top of the breast with how ever much you’d like. Cover with tin foil. Bake in oven until chicken is thoroughly cooked.
*This can also be cooked on the grill by wrapping each piece individually…

Thursday after work I ran 5.2 miles, 51:35 – 9:55 m/m. I also took more walk breaks that I could count. Seriously, I ran out of fingers. The good thing is that I got it done. Then I did a little bit of CrossFit at home. Sort of. I did some burpees, airsquats, and some dips. I need to get working on some strength/weights if I wanna rock a strapless wedding dress! Need to sculpt that back! Who says that? Jeez, I’m a freak.Β Dinner was a bowl of cereal. I know. Gourmet chef over here, always cooking…

Friday was a great day! Since my birthday is this weekend, my work peeps celebrated it Friday!

Chyeah, Birthday House is right!

I love the swirly things.Β  As usual when it’s someone birthday, we ordered lunch of birthday person’s choosing. I chose Thai food. I chose to have some fresh basil rolls and some curry poppers. Yes two appetizers. For lunch. So good. So good, in fact, that I didn’t take a picture. I was so hungry I didn’t have time for picture taking nonsense.

Friday after work I ran 3.2 miles, 28:51 – 9:00 m/m. Whew. These after work runs have been running me down. It’s been so hot. I thought it was supposed to be autumn! Since when does autumn call for 87* temps?! This is ridic. For dinner, B, his youngest son M, and I met up with some family (I adopted them) for dinner at a local BBQ joint. I feasted on someΒ more sweet mashed taters, bbq, red rice, couple of hushpuppies and then some peanut butter pie. Yeah, I love my carbs. And I live in the south. Don’t judge. πŸ˜‰

Today. Well. I was going to run 9 miles but when I woke up at 6:30, I wasn’t feeling it. Physically or mentally. My calves are super tight, my quads are sore, and my left hip is tight (or just hurting…not sure). So I gave myself a birthday present: a rest day. A much needed rest day, I suppose. I plan to do some stretching today and hopefully I will feel well enough to make up my long run tomorrow. A fleeting though came across my mind of doing 4 miles or so…but if I want to feel well enough to do 9 tomorrow, I should stick with plan A and just take it easy today.

My birthday plans are (I know you’re just dying to know how the fabulous and amazing live, but unfortunately you’re reading the wrong blog for that) to go to an in-water boat show, walk around downtown, shop at Williams-Sonoma (haha, who am I kidding? I’m not shopping there. B is), then B has got dinner reservations at a place called High Cotton which is a highfalutin place. So yes, I have to get dressed up in heels with makeup and make myself presentable to the world. But I’m looking forward to it since I don’t get to do it often.

Before we do of that, though I’m just hanging out with my snotface puppydog.

Ugh, how cute is that little face?! Just makes my heart melt!

I hope you all enjoy my birthday your weekend!

5 thoughts on “It’s My Party

  1. First and foremost, I feel like the worst person ever.. how did I not know it was your birthday?? If it makes up for it, i would so take you out to wherever you wanted to eat & go for a run w/ you for a present if I lived in the states??!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Second, I think the way you plan on celebrating your birthday is awesome! I mean you gave yourself a rest day (way to listen to your bod) and your getting a delicious dinner. What could be better???

Leave a Reply

