Wrong Girlfriend?

Friday I used as a rest day. I briefly thought about running after work but squashed the thought since I was going to do my long run Saturday morning. Needed to rest my legs.

I woke up ready and refreshed Saturday morning. Although I mapped out and planned to do an 8 mile long run about 20 minutes away from my place, it didn’t happen there. I’ll tell you why, since I have a tendency to give too much information (why stop now, right). I needed to be out of the door and driving by 6:50 so, I set my alarm for 6:15 AM. Surprisingly, I woke up when it went off. I thought to myself, “self, we’re off to a good start already!” I started my pot of coffee and took my dog for a walk while it was brewing. Before I do a long run, I try to drink some coffee to, um you know, get things moving along. Internal organs were still sleeping apparently because things weren’t moving along fast enough. Things didn’t move along until about 7:20. Oof. That already put me behind schedule by 30 minutes. It really wouldn’t have mattered if I didn’t have plans later, but I did… So instead of being late I just ran around the neighborhood.

When I did finally get outside I felt so good!My legs and body felt well rested. Around mile 6 my legs were strong. I felt as if I could keep going and going, like I could run to the edge of America, not that I’m far from it anyway… I ran long than the 8 miles I planned; I ranΒ 9.6 miles in 1:33:24. That’s aΒ 9:50 m/m pace. Considering my previous long runs were an average of 10:00 m/m, I was very proud of myself!

Then B, his boys and I met with a friend of our from NC for lunch… Then ice skating. I’m not good. But I’m good enough that I didn’t fall. πŸ™‚

Since B doesn’t have his boys next weekend (which is my birthday weekend, should be a national holiday ;)) we celebrated my birthday early. So sweet! I got a card from the boys and I got a card from B. The one from B was very sweet. Talked about how I am so nice, kind, special, understanding, empathetic, etc. After I read the card I looked at him and said, “thank you babe. But are you sure you gave this to the right girlfriend?” I tell ya, I just crack myself up.

Sunday I did no official workout… But did some yard work, which made up for that. We had some other friends over and we had a little cookout with ham/cheeseburgers and hotdogs, homemade coleslaw (courtesy of B), baked beans, with snacks of pita chips and a choice of hummus or spinach dip. And because I suck at blogging, I didn’t take a picture. πŸ˜‰ You’re welcome.

I hope you all had a fabulous weekend and have had a good start to the week. To be honest though, my week sucked and we were only 21 hours into it… The football game made me want to cry. We’re 0-2 1-2. 😦 C’mon Pats, get your shit together!

2 thoughts on “Wrong Girlfriend?

  1. Ugh, I hear you about the game – brutal! But if it makes you feel any better, we’re actually 1-2, not 0-2… Yeah, I don’t feel all that much better, either. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

