Consistency > Time.

To start: I did not run this morning. I was supposed to but my allergies had me all congested and I could hardly breathe. Very sexy: bedhead and snot. So I slept in a little and I will run this afternoon.

There are so many studies and articles and opinions out there about when the best time is to exercise. Basically they all state the same thing:

  • Less chance of being injured in the afternoon
  • More strength in the afternoon
  • More endurance in the afternoon
  • More consistency in the morning
  • Better weight-loss results in the morning

Here’s my opinion: consistency is the key.

I don’t care if a person chooses to workout at before work, during lunch, after work, or after dinner. As long as a person works out consistently (and eats right), he/she will get results. Maybe I am by myself on this one, and that’s okay (it’s a lonely place, but I’m used to it ;)). For me personally, mid-morning/early afternoon is ideal for me as far as when my level of motivation and strength levels are at their peak (or I feel they are). However this time of day for me to workout does not work because I have to work (and I’d rather not stay in the office any longer than I have to). After work, I’m less motivated to workout because I have been at work all day and I just want to relax and not wait until 8 p.m. to eat dinner ALSO after work I tend to get these errands that pop up. After dinner is not a necessarily a viable option as its my “cool down” time for the day. I relax and unwind. Mornings, it is. I may not be at my peak strength or have as much endurance, but at least I’m getting it done.

This bring me to another point. (By the way, I know this post is very unstructured, but its not like I’m using this as my thesis to get my doctorate’s degree… So whatev.)

Where was I? Oh yes. Another point. When I read articles about people who get better results faster by working out in the afternoon’s, it makes me feel bad. I know that getting out and doing something is better than nothing; but I almost want to throw my hands up and say, “well, I can’t work out in the afternoons, so why should I even bother?” But this is not a healthy attitude. I can only do what I can only do…and so can you. (Yes, you can read this over and over if you’d like, but for my motivational speeches, it will cost you.)

So just keep doing what you’re doing and as long as you’re getting up and out and moving, its better than nothing. The fact that over 35% of American are obese means that we should focus on the big picture and not the little details. If one cannot workout until 11 p.m. and that’s a convenient and viable option, then go for it…

Sorry for such a sloppy post but I hope my point came across the way I wanted it to… Happy Monday! 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Consistency > Time.

  1. I know EXACTLY how you feel! I am SO an afternoon/early evening runner, but my work schedule (& southern heat) do not always allow me to run when I would like. I have gradually transformed myself into a morning runner, but every now & again when I work in an evening run-it’s like a “treat” because my endurance & times are so much better! Consistency IS key! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Decisions. Decisions. « Miles and Mascara

Leave a Reply

