Exciting Stuff.

Like I said yesterday, its been nearly two weeks since I last posted something. Two weeks. I am a total slacker. I’ve done a few runs here and there, although not as much as I should or would like.

I’m sure you’re just dying with anticipation about what’s going on in my life that is SO exciting. And if you’re not, just pretend you are.

I signed up to run my first marathon. Ever.

Pretty exciting stuff! It’s in January right here in Charleston, SC. I’m nervous and anxious and all that good stuff. I am also kind of worried that I’m not going to be able to pull it off.

My third half marathon is coming up in November, but I wanted another goal to work towards. Maybe that will get my motivation meter pegged since I’ve been having a real issue with motivation lately. Although if worse comes to worse, I can always “downgrade” and just run the half.

I’ve read that one of the ways to get motivation back was to sign up for a race. I kind of thought this was counter-intuitive because if I don’t have motivation, how the hell am I going to train for a race?! Then I figured it out.

It’s a mental thing. Yeah, I know, everyone else in the world already knew this. I’m slow. My mom always told me I was “speshul”. πŸ˜‰

On that note, I found a beginner’s marathon training plan and fortunately the 12 mile run lines up with the same day that my half marathon happens. Score!

If you couldn’t tell, I’ve redone the looks of my page. Again. Because, like Madonna, I feel the need to reinvent myself. Constantly.

I know I can research and research and research till my fingers fall off and my eyeballs fall out. But, I’m going to ask anyway: all you marathoners out there, what is the biggest piece of advice you have to give for a first time marathoner? What is something that you didn’t expect to happen on race day that did happen? What is something that isn’t all over the interwebs that I should know?

6 thoughts on “Exciting Stuff.

  1. Congrats on signing up for your first marathon!!!

    Be prepared to lose about a week of training over your program. Inevitably something happens – you get sick, you go on vacation, work gets crazy, you just need a break. In both rounds of marathon training I’ve missed almost a week straight, although I did get in one run each time, which was the long run. I started back up the next week fine though.

    Also, don’t be too serious about it! Take your training seriously, but don’t take the race seriously. I had SO. MUCH. FUN. running my first marathon. To this day, it is still the most fun I’ve ever had. I easily added 15-20 minutes to my time just goofing around, taking pictures, etc. but it was worth every minute!

    Good luck!!!

    • Thanks for the heads up! I know sh*t happens, and we just have to deal, so I will plan for the unforeseen events. As far as pics, I think I will do some long training runs with my SPIbelt so I can carry my phone for pics. I can’t stand carrying something in my hand for a long time while running. Thanks again and I will definitely be posting how my training is going!

  2. Pingback: Second Guessing. « Miles and Mascara

  3. Pingback: Marathon Fever…? | Miles and Mascara

Leave a Reply

