Liquid Sunshine and FWP

Since I want to claim my blog of being one of fitness, I guess I should do some fitness-y things. After finding motivation to hit up the hotel gym for only two days, I knew I needed to get back to it. I’m back home, I know my paths, and I have no excuses. Yesterday I vacuumed out my car and changed the tire. Well, helped change the tire. I wanted B to feel manly so I let him do the brunt of the work, you know, jacking the car up, getting the lugnuts loose, physically taking off the old and putting on the new tire, that sort of thing. Then he made dinner. An oh so good dinner. I knew I kept him around for a reason 😉 (I love you, hun!)

I didn’t take a picture because I don’t have that kind of time when I’m hungry. BUT it did involve the following: turkey kielbasa, onion, squash, mushrooms, red bell pepper, minced garlic, balsamic vinaigrette, some other spices, and whole wheat rice. Dee-lish. It was like gumbo but with out the g-bo but with a y. No worries, I’m not quitting my day job.

This morning my alarm went off at 5:15 and I wanted to roll back over and go to sleep. I told myself I would hit up the gym after work. I knew it was a lie, but I tried to convince myself. Good thing I didn’t listen to myself (just like most people I know). After 5 minutes of arguing with myself, I lost. So I got up, got dressed and headed out for a run. I was thinking I’d get 6 miles in but with the time restraint I settled on 5. It was drizzling for 3 miles and the last 2 were done in full-on rain liquid sunshine. I was doubly wet (yes, there is such a thing, just ask me). Sweat and rain. Phew. Total badass. A legend in my own mind.

Now my biggest worry for the day is if my dog is going to play in the puddles in the backyard. First world problems y’all, first world problems. Speaking of those…

I’ve realized that I have kind of really fallen off the wagon of keeping up with my calorie count for the day. I used to be really good about, then I got obsessive, so I stopped, then I started and maintained and then fell off… I decided I want to pick it up again because I’ve thrown caution to the wind and just eaten whatever but I want to be “the healthy one” again. I used MyFitnessPal in the past and I began using it again today. I downloaded it onto my phone and have started tracking my calories again. The trouble for me is not being obsessive about it. It can be very easy to go back to old ways, you know, I wanted to be skinny and would do anything I had to get there. I keep telling myself I want to be strong and healthy and fit and that’s what will keep me in shape and thin.

Do you count calories? What database do you use and for how long have you done it?

2 thoughts on “Liquid Sunshine and FWP

  1. I started using the My Plate app in May and I like it so far! Very convenient to have on my phone so with me almost all the time.

Leave a Reply

