Staying in Style

As I mentioned in my previous post, I am traveling for work. I have been to DC quite a few times, more often than not for personal trips. I am not necessarily a fancy person and I do not require a lot of frills regarding hotel rooms. The only requirements I have is that the room is clean, the water can stay warm enough for a regular shower, and the bed is not a rock.

I came to this hotel Saturday when I got into town and checked in. Imagine my surprise when I was handed my room key and was told, “Ms. Mandi, we’ve got you in our executive suite.”No, I don’t get out much and yes, its the little things in life that make me happy. Like this room.

Yes, my bedroom is behind a door separating the living area. It also has a powder room. Oh man…I’m so simple. Don’t judge me!

Here’s the icing (and decorations!) on the cake: most hotels give some sort of shampoo/conditioner/lotion bottles…they serve Bath & Body Works Orange & Ginger. They taste smell fabulous!

And every day that I walked in after training, housekeeping left me a present: a bag of trail mix and a bottle of water.

Again, don’t judge me because I’m simple. I’d be jealous if I were you, too. 😉

So, how ’bout them workouts, Mandi?!

Oh yeah. So…I got my lazy ass back into the gym at home (but only once so far) and I have also run a handful of times. I have worked out twice since I’ve been in DC and one of those times I’ve come to realize I really despise the dreadmill 75% of the time. I don’t have the patience for them, I feel. When I’m outside on the road, I know I have to do my loop and actually run to get home faster. On the dreadmill I know I can hop off at any moment and I have to stare at the same thing the whole time. Which unfortunately for me, is usually my reflection in either the mirror in front of the machine or my reflection in the black screen of the TV right in my face.

I’m working on a draft workout plan to help motivate me to hightail it to the gym more often than once every four months. I’ll let you know what I come up with and I would love to know your thoughts.

On that note, do you follow any sort of schedule or do you just go with the flow of whatever you feel like doing that day?

2 thoughts on “Staying in Style

  1. My last job was terrible about traveling – they made us share rooms and we stayed in crappy hotels. It was awful. My current job puts us up in really nice hotels and it is such a treat to travel now! So I totally know what you mean. Your suite looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

