Let’s Get Serious

I’m going to begin by listing out why I prefer to workout/run in the morning. I know. There are already 361,286,895 posts out there like this. This has a point though, just bear with me.

1. I get it done and out of the way
2. It’s a great feeling to have worked out before the sun rises
3. I make better decisions throughout the rest of the day
4. I don’t have to hassle with evening traffic
5. 99.9% of the bad people are still sleeping (bad assumption, I’m sure)

There are other small reasons but those are the main ones. That last one really makes me think. There are people like this sick guy who likes to rub his face in a female’s butt. Or this guy who attacked a female jogger who was able to get away and was treated for injuries. Things like this happen every day in all types of communities; it’s not limited to the ghetto or to suburbs or a quiet neighborhood road on the outskirts of town.

A statistic from Criminal Laws “43% of all rapes happen between 6PM and 12AM, 24% happen from 12AM to 6AM, while 33% happen between 6AM and 6PM.”

I do not assume that I am safe from this sort of crime because of the time of day I workout. I still look over my shoulder. I do not run with an iPod so I can hear my surroundings. Things like this go through my head:
– “Do I hear footsteps in those leaves behind me?”
– “Is that the wind going through a tree or is that a person behind that bush?”
– “What will I do if some one jumps out and tries to attack me?”

Maybe I am paranoid. Maybe. But I do pay attention to my surroundings and I try to be safe.

We runners, especially women, need to be more aware of our surroundings. I will never try to discourage a person from running solo, but I think we need to be smart about it. I think all people should be more aware of their surroundings because it’s not just runners who are assaulted.

I’m fortunate that I have never had to deal with a situation but it doesn’t mean it can’t happen in the future.

Regardless if you’re a morning, afternoon, or evening runner, be safe.

Do you think of things like this? Have you been in a situation? What did/would you do?

Here are some links to some other runner-safety information:
Self-Defense for Runners – Run The Planet
Walking Safety – Runner’s World

3 thoughts on “Let’s Get Serious

  1. Hi, Mandi! I vote “prepared” not paranoid. I take heat jokingly sometimes about all the things I can imagine going wrong, but one day a cop friend told me it is useful to envision scenarios and how you might react and what options you might have to survive them. Of course, I’m not sure he meant my daydream in which I stab by eye because an earthquake hits while I’m putting on eyeliner… šŸ™‚ Enjoying your blog!

  2. I have a pepper spray keychain that I carry with me when running solo. Makes me feel more secure, just in case. Of course that’s no reason not to pay attention to your surroundings!

Leave a Reply

