I Am A Rugged Manaic

Yesterday I did it. I did the Rugged Maniac 5k! I had a lot more fun than I thought I would, to be honest… I’m usually such a weenie and failure, I thought I would suck ass at this. I only skipped two obstacles: the huge logs to jump on/over and the islands, because I thought I was going to fall forward into the next and bust my face open. I don’t know what my official time is, but its somewhere around 40-ish…give or take 10 minutes (more than likely give) ;).

Let’s do this!

I kind of feel like death.

Ooo, yay! More mud and barbed wire!

Contacts, please don’t fall out!

Wahoo! I did it!

And because I don’t want to go down in shame alone: here are some pics of Bruce!

I got this.

Get ’em tiger!

Almost there!

One more obstacle…

Wheeeeee!

Total badass.

So as a race itself, it was set up okay. This was the first race like this I have ever done and my third race ever, so its not like I’m the best race recap person… Plus I go with the flow and whatever. I did have to change my time at the last minute because of my forgetfulness. We’re 5 minutes from pulling in. Shit! I forgot my shoes! Whaa?! It was pretty easy to change times, though. It was an extra charge, then I had to put all of my info on a piece of paper and give it to a guy by the finish line so that he could change it in their system. Fancy. The start and finish were only about 25 yards from one another. Everything was clearly marked, so there wasn’t much confusion. There was water handed out at one point on the course and there were porta-potties at the beginning/end and along the course. The obstacles were a lot of fun: four mud/barbed wire pits, swinging tires, four walls (all different heights), a tunnel, and some other things (c’mon, I don’t want to give it all away!). The kids had a small boxing ring and a couple of jump castles. There was also a mechanical bull for those who wanted to partake in that sort of thing. I made a big enough fool of myself by running the race, I didn’t need to give people even more reasons to think I’m an idiot. 🙂

After all this, we got cleaned up and went out for some much deserved sushi!

Lesson learned? Bathing is a better look for me.

Have/would you ever run a race like this?

4 thoughts on “I Am A Rugged Manaic

Leave a Reply

