PO’d Motivation

Yesterday there was some stress going on. I like my hair too much, so I was ready to pull someone else’s out. These lyrics from Kelly Clarkson’s ‘Stronger’ rang true:

You think you got the best of me
Think you had the last laugh
Bet you think that everything good is gone

Think you left me broken down
Think that I’d come running back
Baby, you don’t know me, cause you’re dead wrong

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger
Stand a little taller
Doesn’t mean I’m lonely when I’m alone
(source)

This doesn’t have to do with a guy, so the love part and being with someone else has nothing to do with the situation. I was so pissed off and I really needed to go for a run after my impromptu errand. I thought about the situation and this song pretty much the entire run. I’ve thought about how I’ve been made stronger from it (among all the other stuff life has thrown at me). I ran 4.2 miles in 35:55 – 8:33 m/m.

I think this song will be my anthem for 2012.

This morning I woke up early to head to the gym for my second training run for my half marathon happening in May. I worked out 3 miles in 28:01 – 9:20 m/m. For some reason, to me, it seems like keeping a fast pace on the treadmill is more difficult than on the road… Either way, got my run in then worked on my tris and chest. Feelin’ the burrrnnnn!!!

Does being mad make you run faster or work harder? Do you have a song you consider an anthem?

2 thoughts on “PO’d Motivation

  1. I’m sorry you had such a stressful day! A good run always helps get some of that anxiety out- although sometimes when I’m pounding the pavement and have the same lyrics stuck in my head on a loop… and especially if I only know one verse of the song… it drives me CRAZY!

Leave a Reply

