I Got New (Not Running) Shooz!

Sorry it’s been so long since I’ve posted. Usually that would mean someone’s gonna have something really good to talk about when they write again.

No. Not so much. My life has been pretty dull. 🙂

Monday, I was a total slacker. I didn’t do nuthin’, as some of my southern friends would say… I know, it’s a double negative. Doesn’t make no sense. 😉 I didn’t run. I didn’t lift. I didn’t stretch. I didn’t work. Well, I did get some of my and my parent’s belongings out of my uncle’s place to go through (it’s amazing how much stuff accumulates!). But I don’t count that as anything. Bruce made dinner: Beef Daube Provencal.

I’m not really a stew person, but this was pretty tasty. I’m a pretty picky eater (as in, I don’t eat the carrots or potatoes in a stew) but I did eat the carrots. Could really smell the wine in it, but it gave it a very good robust flavor. Listen to me, being all foodie like and what not.

Tuesday I ran 3.6 miles on the treadmill at the gym (in the a.m., no less) while getting a good weight sesh in – biceps and back. When I walk out of the gym after a good weight session I feel like I have swagger – other people might think I just have to use the restroom… I can’t remember what was for dinner that night – I think it was left over *gross* eggplant parmesean. Still trying to get rid of it. 😉 Oh, and I took this picture of my adorable doggy.

How precious is that face?!

Then we went to bed at 8:30 because it was either that or pulling my left eye out of its socket because it hurt so bad. I figured that it’d be best to go to bed since I wouldn’t know how to put it back in.

Wednesday I knocked a good 6.2 mile run out in 53:53 (8:41 m/m). I was very pleased with that. That cross training and speed work is really helping me. At least I hope so. I don’t want to think I actually had this in me long ago and didn’t push it out. Well…now that I think about it, that’s disappointing… I went to one of the local shoe stores, Phillips Shoes, to check out these Toms shoes. There are some super cute styles! I just opted for the simple gray (grey?) ones. Their mission is pretty cool: For every pair bought, a pair will be given to a child who needs them.

It was pretty cool at the store though because I got to chatting with a guy who works there who runs. He runs about 8 miles a day and bikes about 20 miles every other day. Whoa! Makes me feel like I’m lazy! Maybe I am… He was telling me that another guy who works there is a Brooks ID guy (they have a ton of Brooks shoes) and that he is a Merrill guy. He does the whole barefoot running thing and swears by it. I don’t know, the more I read and hear about it, the more enticed I am to try it out. This guy had some sort of spinal surgery just over a year ago and began running April of last year. He says he has no back or hip pain. No shin splints. His calves and arches are much stronger. He doesn’t have plantar fasciitis and feels so much better. I will definitely be going to this store from here on out to buy my running shoes. They had a bigger selection and a much more knowledgeable staff when it comes to running.

Today is a new day. I had my alarm set to go to the gym. Didn’t happen. I hit snooze about 5 times. I’ll do something after work.

See, nothing exciting! Ta-da! Hope you all have a wonderful Friday and that you’ve had a good week leading up to it! 🙂

Oh, and I am feeling so much better – no more sinus issues, yay!

4 thoughts on “I Got New (Not Running) Shooz!

    • Yes! Part of me wanted to say “be careful, don’t hurt yourself!” But then the other part is on the same wave length as you “I feel like such a slacker!”

      And thanks! She’s such a goon! A spoiled little booger. But she is my kid. 🙂

Leave a Reply

