Well, This is Fancy

Yesterday was pretty uneventful. Pushed out 6 miles in 57:09. Still stuffy. Walked my dog for a mile and a half. Helped Bruce clean his yard. With two people it only took 2.5 hours. My hammies were pretty sore this morning!

Let’s get to the good stuff. Today. We slept in. I’m actually kind of ashamed to tell you how late. I’ll just say it was the latest I’ve slept in about six years. Woke up and did nothing but drink coffee.

How cool does that look?

No working out. There was a PGR mission today. It was a wreath laying memorial service for a hero who was killed in the midst of battle in Afghanistan five years ago. It was a very touching service and I promise you there was not a dry eye in the house. It was supposed to rain all day, and it did all morning. Fortunately there was not a drop falling during the hour long service. It’s almost as if this American hero was watching over us (and his family, of course) and held off the rain for it.

After the service, Bruce and I stopped by this place just down the road from where the cemetery is to grab a bite to eat. Not sure how long this place had been opened but it was super cute! Its called Charleston Bakery (sorry, no website).

ย ย 

Their desserts looked so tasty. You know something is good when you gain 10 pounds from just salivating on the glass its behind! Bruce and I opted for sammiches instead. It was good, but it was not worth the money paid. If/when we go back, it’ll be for the desserts. Too bad its not on my way to work though, I would definitely try out their breakfast foods. And coffee. And all the tasty things.

Dinner was prepared by Bruce. Eggplant Parmesan.

It was disgusting. So I had to get rid of it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I didn’t like it one bit.

In order to finish the dish, we needed some mots-a-rella (totally said that my undercover Italian accent). Off to the store I already was because I was picking up some chocolate chips to make cookies for dessert. Bruce called me and told me I need to grab some mots-a-rella and he was right on the dot. I was already standing right in front of the cheese. The already shredded kind. In order to save about 40 cents, I decided on the store brand (HT’s got some reputable delicacies, don’t judge me). There were still so many choices! What do I choose!ย Oh, hey, that one says fancy shredded. I got it because it said fancy. It immediately made me feel richer.

Like this, but with cheese.

Also made some delicious chocolate chip cookies. Wasn’t gonna make four dozen, so I cut the recipe in half and made 17 cookies. ๐Ÿ™‚

You know you want two dozen of these bad boys.

Have you ever bought something just because of how it was described? Did you ever eat something gross just to get rid of it? ๐Ÿ˜‰

4 thoughts on “Well, This is Fancy

  1. I’m planning to make (vegan) eggplant parm one night this week… your pics are making me wish it was tonight! But I still haven’t had the chance to make sauce and I don’t like the jarred stuff I bought. Sigh. Maybe sauce tonight, eggplant parm tomorrow? Glad you enjoyed yours, and I hope you’re feeling better soon!

Leave a Reply

