Face Takeover

Despite the buildup of mucous that is slowly trying to take over my face, I woke up early and ran. I went by the ‘neck rule.’ If you have attention span like I do, here’s the jist:

Symptoms below the neck (chest cold, bronchial infection, body ache) require time off, while symptoms above the neck (runny nose, stuffiness, sneezing) don’t pose a risk to runners continuing workouts.

I don’t have chest congestion, body ache, or coughing. I do have runny nose, stuffiness, and sneezing. I probably have enough for you, so if you’d like some, please let me know. My mom taught me to share.

I went for an easy 5 miles this morning. Well, it didn’t feel as easy since I wasn’t feeling that great, but I did it. I was a little slower but still averaged 9:30 m/m. Funny I now call that slower because I’m pretty sure about 3 months ago I was still praying to be able to keep a 10 m/m pace. Now I’m at a usual 8:45 – 9:00. Not that I’m complaining!

Something else I’m not complaining about? My boss let us go early today! Wahoo! Half an hour earlier than normal knock off time, but was still able to count it as regular time.

[Would totally put a picture of me doing the most awesome thumbs up, but you DO NOT want to see this face right now.]

Today’s breakfast was small, just some mini rice cakes. Lunch was still the left-over turkey chili I made. Dinner will be delicious sushi gyro sammich! So glad I can at least still taste!

Lindsay over at Sun, Salt, and Sanity made a post then asked a question that kind of hit home for me.

Has anyone’s weight-loss sparked them to start treating themselves more, rather than maintain healthy eating?

I do have this problem. Especially when it comes to times like now. I see I can not push myself and indulge a little more at the same time and not gain any weight. Then it gets difficult to get back on track. I have to keep reminding myself that this is about being healthy on the inside and, let’s face it, looking good on the outside. So I’m going to ask you the same thing..

Do you have a hard time getting back on track after some downtime when you don’t gain any weight?

Leave a Reply

