Reflections

This weekend started off rough. I’ll flip to Saturday then go back to Friday.

Saturday my friend Jessica and I ran the IOP (Isle of Palms) Connector. We ran from Mount Pleasant over the connector onto IOP then turned around and went back. A total of 7 miles is what we ran. In 1:05:12. Yes. Thank you. We are awesome. It was easy going over from Mt. P to IOP because we were running with the wind so it was so much easier climbing a hill. The other way was rough. A headwind the entire time. I was running forward up a hill but the wind made me feel as if I were leaning backwards. Should I just stop and roll back down hill?! Literally, my hair (which was in a ponytail) was straight back. I wish I could get it that straight when I wanted it to. Then we grabbed a soup and salad from Whole Foods. Yum!

There really is some beautiful scenery along this route. I should really invest in a small belt to keep things with me, such as my phone, so I can take pictures of my very own!

Friday. Disclaimer: Gonna get serious for a moment. Friday was a milestone. It was eight years since my dad passed away. Eight years and (almost) five months since my mom passed. And its almost been 12 years since my sister passed away. It was definitely a rough morning. Sometimes I think back and I reflect on what brought me to where I am today. As much as I love where I am in life, I still wonder where I would be and how different my life would be if my family were still here. I reflected on the fact that my dad (my last living “household” relative) lived the last 6 1/2 years without his youngest daughter, but it’s been 8 years since I’ve lived without him. My heart aches for my parents still because of my sister’s death. No parent should have to bury their child. It is not the natural process of life.

When I did my half marathon in November I cried from mile 1 to mile 1.5 thinking about my family. I think they are who pushed me through it. I wanted to make them proud. I think of them when I run… I remember being a small kid, probably 6 or 7 years old and my dad, who was in the Marine Corps at the time, would go for a long run. I would greet him at the door with a HUGE mug of cold water. I used to ask him all the time if I could go with him. Now that I’m all growd up I think about how much hard work he put into his runs. He would run 10 miles on a weekend, although because he had to. I guess that’s what powers me through so many of my workouts – my family. It is hard to run and choke back tears though. I don’t recommend thinking of sad things while running. Its a difficult thing. πŸ™‚

This run is for you dad!

What sort of things do you reflect on when you run? Does it keep you going?

6 thoughts on “Reflections

  1. Mandi, you are such an inspiration to so many. I am thankful that I was introduced to you when I arrived in SC. I so understand you and I feel like you are one of my very own children. I just wanted to take a moment and tell you “I love you girl”. God has a plan for you. NO doubt in my mind. You have touched so many lives with your love, giving and caring. Never change honey πŸ™‚ Big HUGS to you darling! ~MoMo

  2. Wow, Mandi- that is so much for one person to deal with! You are such an inspiration. Running definitely gives you so much time in your own brain- it can be therapeutic but I can imagine all of that thinking could be hard too!

    Also- impressed with that bridge run! My 7 mile route has a couple of bridges, and the wind sucks. Mucus streaming everywhere, ear-buds slapping your face- attractive stuff πŸ˜‰ Happy Valentine’s Day!

  3. Mandi, I miss you sooooo much! You have become such an amazing, STRONG, and beautiful woman and I am very lucky to know you! I’m so glad to see that you are doing well and happy. I am looking forward to your blogs, they make me smile and think of the “good ole days”! Love and miss you!

  4. Pingback: Full of Surprises. | Miles and Mascara

Leave a Reply

