10,000,000,000 Calf Raises

Wow, I must really be in a schlump. I feel like two days in a row of working out is a great feat. I guess that’s because I didn’t work out for two solid days. I always feel guilty when I don’t work out. I know I’m not alone in having this feeling. I read about it. I have talked with others who feel the same way, yet, I still skip at times.

On another note, yesterday I did not get my lazy butt out of bed to work out in the a.m. Oh, I love thy bed. I went out for a run yesterday after work. Took my puppy dog for a 2.5 mile run. Not sure who was running who though. She helped me reach an 8:33 mile time. Some how my legs were still in the mood to run. I told them we would go, but not too hard, just easy. They agreed but I think just to get me back out there because they totally lied to me. I covered another 4.2 miles with an average of 8:45/mile. Not to shabby. Actually, more like awesome! I’m so proud of myself! My calves were super sore afterwards. I think its because I switched shoes so the mechanics are all different – the heel-toe drop not as high, firmer cushioning, etc. Then I enjoyed some pizza at a place called Park Pizza with my friend Brigitte. We split a pizza. My half was decked out in turkey sausage and red onion. Just a couple slices of Heaven. I was so hungry and so looking forward to eating it that I did not even take a picture.

Today, same start as yesterday. Late and slow. I do not like dark and cold mornings. Its not even cold here for about 90% of the country. But hey, I get duck pimples and shiver at 45*. My calves were still sore all day. Not sharp pains, but sore. As if I did a gajillion calf raises. Twice. Again, I worked out after work. This time, I did not treat my puppy to 2.5 miles of running. I was selfish and I went to the gym. I only did about 3.5 miles on the treadmill. Was working on some speed work and then did some uphill walking. Then I just did some work on my back, biceps and shoulders. Definitely will be a bit sore tomorrow. For dinner, I made Bruce and I some soy glazed cod (idea courtesy of Carrots ‘N’ Cake, recipe courtesy of Real Simple) with a side of organic quinoa and edemame. If you don’t know this by now, I love Asian food.



By the way, did you know a loofah can come “undone” and wrap around the world 14 times?!

One thought on “10,000,000,000 Calf Raises

  1. I know what you mean – I almost always feel guilty about skipping a run, even with a legitimate excuse. Sometimes you need it, though, and the lack of motivation is your body’s way of telling you it needs some rest. Jealous you have a dog to run with – I miss running with mine!

Leave a Reply

