Life is Full of the Unexpected

Let’s recap, shall we. I needed to buy new shoes. That’s pretty much it, right? Man, I have an exciting life. I was not instrumental in supporting locally owned businesses Thursday evening when I got my new running shoes. I went to a national chain because, let’s face it, I’m broke just like 99% of the country (did you get the reference? ;)) and it’s cheaper: 1. because of their inventory and 2. because my Mizunos are on sale, $20 off. Did you say sale? Pshh, chyea! I was already set, I was going to get these shoes and walk out before buying anything else. Here’s the unexpected: I did not get my Mizunos and I walked out with new socks, a new pair of shorts (on sale!), and some UA cold gear pants. I was browsing the wall of women’s running shoes, zoned in on the kind I need and found a pair of Brooks that I wanted to try on. Asked the employee if he could grab a pair in my size as well as the Mizunos (the ones I already have) so that I could try them on side by side and make a decision. I put on both of the Brooks Ghost 4 shoes and walked around for a few minutes. I took one of them off and replaced with a Mizuno. Hm, well, this feels vaguely familiar. Let’s lean forward. Back. Put all weight on right foot. Left. Jump. Wiggle toes. Move heel up and down. Bingo! We have a winner. They felt better than the Mizunos. I still plan to get another plan of Mizunos to keep over at Bruce’s, but I have to find the right pair.

Β 

Friday night Bruce and I had a nice date night downtown. We went to Chai’s Lounge to grab a drink and some appetizers. I ordered the orange tuna tartare and tea-smoked duck spring rolls (sorry for the bad quality on this pic). Let me tell you a little sumpin’ sumpin’. Yum!

Β 
Then we went to Kaminsky’s for dessert. Split a ginormous 30,000 calorie brownie sundae. Worth every pound gained.

Saturday my friend Jessica and I ran what’s called the Ravenel Bridge. It’s kind of a big deal. This bridge opened in 2004 to replace the old bridges. It is the longest cable span bridge in North America.

Β 

We rocked 5.2 miles at 9:54/mile average. This bridge runs from Mt. Pleasant, SC to downtown Charleston, SC. We parked on the Mt. Pleasant side and ran towards Charleston first, then we turn around and ran back. Phew! That other direction was killer! I swear at one point when the wind blew my legs came out from underneath me!

Then I had a grilled cheese, pretzels and a glass of chocolate milk for lunch. Split my pretzels with Welker… I’ve taught her that her stuffed Kong is “peanut butter” so now when I saw the “PB” word she gets excited. I can’t blame her. I get excited when I’m teased with peanut butter, too! And her momma didn’t raise no foo, check her out stabilizing her peanut butter. πŸ˜‰



Sunday was a laid back and chill day. Then the Patriots lost and I cried. Almost called into work sick that night.


Yup, he got a reaaaal wiener…

Then Monday morning came and I was in mourning so I still wore my Patriots earrings. Or I was setting up for next season, not sure yet. Subway for lunch. Dinner was made my Bruce. Chicken breast, parboiled then shredded and mixed in with Texmati rice and veggies topped with some Maggi sweet chili sauce. Gah, I love that stuff.

I made some raspberry cream cheese muffins. I’m just the regular Betty Crocker! Sh! Don’t tell! But they came out so good. I had to pat myself a couple times on the back for that. Well, actually I just ate a couple of them.


They taste even better because they’re in Cars muffin liners. Recipe is courtesy Cooking Light Comfort Foods. I do not have a mixer, so I did all by hand… Not sure how different the consistency turned out compared to original recipe. I also did not have walnuts and 25 minutes did not seem to bake them completely, I had to add a few minutes.

Raspberry Cream Cheese Muffins
2/3 C 1/3-less fat cream cheese
1/2 C butter
1 1/5 C sugar
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 large egg whites
1 large egg
9 oz flour (2 cups, loose)
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 C low-fat buttermilk
2 C fresh raspberries
1/4 C finely chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350*. Mix cream cheese and butter until smooth. Add sugar until fluffy. Add vanilla, egg whites, and egg and mix well. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in separate bowl. Slowly stir flour mixture and buttermilk into liquid mixture and combine well. Fold in raspberries and walnuts (I omitted the nuts, as I did not have them on hand). Fill muffin liners 3/4 way full and bake for 25 – 30 minutes. Remove from pans and cool on wire rack.

3 thoughts on “Life is Full of the Unexpected

  1. Pingback: What I’m Looking Forward To (And Not) | Miles and Mascara

  2. Pingback: Hills and Bridges | Miles and Mascara

  3. Pingback: Lazy Weekend. |

Leave a Reply

