Back to Normal

Alright, so I was really looking forward to getting back to normal. That’s exactly what happened. I woke up and did my normal morning routine and went to work. Breakfast was just some coffee and Chobani lemon greek yogurt. I love that stuff. I was excited for my lunch time meal! I bought a wheat hoagie roll from Harris Teeter last night. I cut it in half and stuffed some Boar’s Head buffalo chicken and a slice of provolone cheese. I had a side of strawberry fig newtons and some mini pretzels. Yum! As an afternoon snack I had some vanilla wafers and an orange.

I got off work and was hungry, but I wanted to go to the gym. Entertain me and let me go off topic a moment: I love walking into my front door to my dog. She is such a happy dog and I swear she knows more yoga than I do, and I’m not just talkin’ ’bout downward facing dog either! I get home and her head is on the floor with her butt in the air and when I scratch her she just kind of rolls over but does a tumble. It’s the funniest thing ever! Okay, thanks for that.. Back to the original story. I came home and after I walked Welker I grabbed another couple of fig newtons to hold me over while at the gym. I ran on the treadmill for 3.55 miles. I think for not doing diddly-squat for the past four days that was okay; but I felt my wobbly bits moving. Yikes! Then I did some weight lifting for my back, shoulders and biceps. It was a good workout, I felt good when I walked out. I wish I could have run longer but my left knee started aching – an ache I’ve never felt before, even when training for my half. I’ll definitely have to keep my eye on that. After the gym, I went by the store to grab a few things I forgot last night; one of those things I needed to make dinner this evening.

Speaking of dinner – I made Lemon-Herb Skillet Pork Chops with Risotto. Bruce really enjoyed the pork, and I’m not a big fan of pork chops, but I think they turned out well.

Lemon-Herb Skillet Pork Chops (Cooking Light: Fresh Food Fast)
4 (4 oz) boneless center-cut loin pork chops (about 1/2 inch thick)
1/2 t salt
1/2 t black pepper
3 T all purpose flour
3/4 t dried thyme
3/4 t paprika
1/4 t dried rubbed sage
1 T olive oil
4 lemon wedges
– Sprinkle both sides of pork chops with salt and pepper
– Combine flour through sage in a dish
– Dip each pork chop to cover in flour mixture
– Heat oil in skillet over medium-high heat; add pork chops
– Cook until done

The risotto was Harris Teeter mushroom risotto. I sliced a lemon into four wedges and served! (Sorry the pic quality isn’t the best.)

After wards I decided I wanted to bake something. I meant to buy some buttermilk, egg whites (I don’t want to waste the few eggs I buy) and cream cheese while at the store; so the Raspberry Cream Cheese muffins were not an option. Boo! I did make cinnamon raspberry muffins, instead! I had one and a glass of dark chocolate almond milk for dessert, and I loved the muffin; although they should’ve been in the oven for an extra couple of minutes, I still loved it!

Raspberry Cinnamon Muffins (altered recipe from Cooking Light: Comfort Food, Strawberry-Cinnamon Muffins)
1 1/2 C all purpose flour (loosely packed)
1/2    C sugar
2 1/2 t baking powder
1 t ground cinnamon
1/4 t salt
2/3 cup fat-free yogurt
1 t vanilla extract
1/4 c butter (melted)
3 T 2% milk
1 large egg, lightly beaten
Cooking Spray
1/4 C raspberry preserves
1 T sugar
1/2 t ground cinnamon

– Preheat oven to 375* (F)
– Mix flour through beaten egg until batter is moist
– Place muffin liners into pan and spray with cooking spray
– Spoon 1 T batter into each liner
– Spoon 1 t raspberry preserves into each liner
– Spoon rest of batter, evenly, into the liners (on top of preserves)
– Bake for 15 – 18 minutes, until toothpick comes out clean

They were made even more delicious using Cars liners. 😉

I hope you all had a wonderful day!

4 thoughts on “Back to Normal

  1. Pingback: Tewsday. | Fitness. Food. Life.

  2. Pingback: Sorry, I Lied | Miles and Mascara

Leave a Reply

