Upscale Downtown

This week has been odd. Usually my life really is not this busy or exciting, which means that if this were an ordinary week I would probably be posting two times a day and you would know almost every detail of my mundane life. Where did I leave off? Oh, yes! Sunday. The day with the yummy apple-sauce oatmeal pancakes. It was, just as I suspected, a rest day. Bruce’s niece is in town and we went downtown to the Spice & Tea Exchange. I bought some black truffle salt, which smells so good in small doses, and I also bought some sort of garlic. I cannot wait to use them in something. They’re just sitting on my counter yelling at me.

Monday after work I went home and was greeted by a happy dog who just wanted some love and a walk. I made her a happier dog. My boyfriend and his niece wanted to eat sushi for dinner (you’ll never hear me turn down sushi!). I know I planned on 4.5 miles but I also wanted to get some weight lifting in and since time was limited I just ran 3.75 and my chest and tris. My treadmill workout consisted of running 3.0 miles at an easy 6.1 mph at a 1.0 incline. The next .5 miles were done in shorter interval fartleks at a 4.0 incline. I walked .2 miles as a cool down. I was doing some “tri kickbacks” (don’t ask me technical names) after doing some pull downs and my tris were on fire! My left one actually cramped up. Yikes! Afterwards I did some stretching and I felt great! Squid salad, edamame, tuna tataki and sushi were very delicious after a hard workout.

Tuesday I took the day off work to hang out with Bruce’s niece. Since I ran Sunday and had a good workout Monday, I chose not to go to the gym. My legs were a bit sore from the treadmill workout and I knew I’d be doing a lot of walking downtown. I didn’t know if I was more excited to get the day off or to hang out with her! 😉 I took her to Folly Beach, which was her first time ever being on the beach. She had so much fun. I did too. I got to chase the stupid seagulls. I hate them. With a passion.

Then we went downtown and walked around a bit. Did some shopping. Bought some delicious cupcakes for dessert that evening. We got Bruce the white raspberry (he loves raspberry), his niece chose the vanilla and I chose the dark chocolate coconut. It was 2:00 and we were hungry! We loaded up in the car and headed for the best Thai place in town. She had never tried Thai food, so she was pretty excited! I ordered my usual fresh basil rolls and decided on the pad thai. She ordered crab wontons and the pad woon sen. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals. I liked mine so much I decided that I would save half of mine for lunch the next day (when I actually had to go back to work – BOO!). We trekked back downtown to walk around a bit more. This time we really had a mission. We were on a mission to find a hippie purse. We headed for the nearest hippie shop downtown, called Loose Lucy’s. Since I’ve never been a tourist in my own town, or traveled a lot downtown, I wasn’t sure where this was. So we searched. We walked two blocks. The same two blocks three times. Phew! We walked by the car. Twice. And since our journey was taking us so long, we dropped a couple more quarters in the meter. Then we had a brilliant idea: let’s look it up on our phone! Whoa, whoda thunk to do that?! Alright, we found the address. We walked another 20 minutes to the address – keep in mind, at this point we have already walked 30 minutes. We found the address, just about 10 feet away. You know what? It was closed. Not just for the day. They were permanently closed. Well, that was a waste of time. I suppose we should be optimistic. I walked a lot. Made up for not running. Then we we went to the mall and found a store that had a hippie purse she liked. Mission accomplished. Dinner time came around and we had Indian food. I just stuck to my usual chicken curry. Then we went back to Bruce’s and had these delicious cupcakes! DEE-LISH-US!

 

Wednesday. Back to the grind. It was good while it lasted. I went to work. Bruce’s niece was going to hang out with my friend Brittany from 11:30 until I got off work to pick her up. I picked her up and we went back to my place. Again, because I was short on time, I had a short run. I didn’t even go to the gym because I didn’t want to waste time driving. I ran around the neighborhood and I ran 3.75 miles in 33:41. I’ll crunch the numbers: 8:59/mile. Another awesome run! Bruce made reservations at this great place downtown called Magnolias. We got dressed up for a night out. I ordered the pecan-encrusted chicken breast and substituted broccolini in place of collard greens.

Bruce got the porterhouse pork chop

Oh my. It was so good! Again, it was so good I decided to save half my chicken for lunch. We got dessert and the three of us split it. Pecan pie with bourbon caramel glaze and vanilla bean ice cream.

All I have to say is YUM! I’m glad we decided to split this all three ways rather than us each getting our own!

As much as I enjoy being pampered and taken out to eat and enjoying all these fine meals, I know it’s not sustainable or healthy. Which is also part of the reason that I saved half my meals for lunches. I’ve never been downtown to actually do things so often. I have really enjoyed myself with Bruce’s niece in town and I have loved hanging out with her – she is a lot of fun! Although her visit isn’t over yet, she definitely has some stories to take home!

Leave a Reply

