That Run Was Awesomesauce.

Just like I promised myself, I ran today.

My plan was to leave work, walk my dog then go to the gym. So… I got off work, walked my dog but I didn’t go to the gym. I was kind of short on time (and I didn’t want to get caught up in the moment while in the gym) so I just threw on some running gear and went outside. Yes, its January, but mind you, I live in South Carolina – it was a high of 68. So I not only had some skin showing, I also broke quite a sweat at 5:00 in the afternoon. In any case, I ran. I ran a route with which I am very familiar. It’s a 4.75 mile route. What was my time? I’m so glad you asked! It was 43:22. Hang on, let me do the math for you. It is 9:07 per mile. That’s epic for me! Before and during my training for my half last fall, my fastest multi-mile time was 10:00. I felt like I could never break that barrier. Lo and behold, after my half while doing some recovery runs the next week I broke it. Usually I hate saying “I broke it,” but I did. I ran a 9:48 multi-mile run. I ran 4 miles at 9:48/mile. I was stoked. Then I got faster and faster each time. Usually. Running 4.75 miles at 9:07/mile is the fastest I’ve ever been. It was awesomesauce. Previously, it was 9:14. I should really begin tracking my PRs.

Leave a Reply

