Half Marathon

It was my first half marathon ever. Actually, my first race ever. Go big or go home. I’ve been running for about 4 1/2 years now and I’ve never done a race. There are a couple of races that take place annually here in town, but I wanted to do a half. Something about that 13.1 miles eluded me. I thought I could do it on my own, but it wouldn’t be official until I crossed a finish line and got a medal. It wasn’t real unless I paid fees to run it. (Okay that last part was total BS, but it makes me feel better because races aren’t cheap!)  Anyway… I ran the Rock N’ Roll Half Marathon in Savannah, GA on November 5th, 2011. It was amazing. AMAZING. I was so happy I did it without walking. I was aiming for a 2 hour run. I also now know tons of people lie on those sign up forms to get into a corral that’s closer to the front. I had to pass so many people. In any case, because there was a hill in the beginning and because I had to gracefully maneuver around a bunch of liars my time was 2:12:45. I’m still pretty impressed with myself. I have proof!

Me before lining up.

Freezing my booty off at the start!

I finished! Yay! I ❤ bananas. And I’m still cold.

Leave a Reply

